The Linguistic Data Consortium is an open consortium of universities, companies and government research laboratories. Originally formed in 199 2to address the critical data shortage then facing language technology research and development. Initially its primary role was as a repository and distribution point for language resources. Since that time, and with the help of its members, LDC has grown into an organization that creates and distributes a wide array of language resources. LDC also supports sponsored research programs and language-based technology evaluations by providing resources and contributing organizational expertise. The University of Pennsylvania serves as the LDC's host institution and is a centre within the University’s School of Arts and Sciences. LDC’s connection with Penn provides a strong foundation for the Consortium’s research and outreach to an active and diverse member community (Provided by Publisher).
China National Knowledge Infrastructure (CNKI) E-Books Service
The Library is excited to announce its subscription to the CNKI E-Books service, offering full-text access and the option to download entire books. With over 9,000 high-quality academic titles from China’s most authoritative scholarly publishers, this service covers a wide range of subject areas, including Art, Language & Literature, History, Nationality & Geography, and Philosophy & Religion. It provides invaluable resources for both research and learning.
The CNKI E-Books collection covers a variety of specialized topics, such as:
This invaluable resource enhances access to authoritative Chinese scholarly content, significantly enriching China-related studies. It is also essential for students working on dissertations and theses that require Chinese-language sources.
Linguistics and language behavior abstracts LLBA
Covers the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical, and geographical linguistics (Provided by Publisher).
The following are important databases for this subject area, however if you don't see what you're looking for, please go to the Database Directory for Translation and Intercultural Studies to browse a wider selection.
Follow the links below to browse databases for specific types of resources.
You can use our Database Directory to browse a broader range of databases that are relevant to Translation and Intercultural Studies as well as other subjects. The directory also allows you to identify databases that provide access to specific types of resources (e.g. Full Text Articles, Streaming Video, Patents, Theses and Dissertations, and much more).
The University of Manchester's research is internationally recognised. Go to Research Explorer, Manchester's research database, to discover the breadth of research produced by staff across the University.
Browse research publications from Translation and Intercultural Studies (please note: whilst many of the publications listed are available to access/Open Access, some records are for forthcoming titles awaiting publication).
