MEDLINE® is a bibliographic database produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. The database contains millions of citations, derived from thousands of biomedical and life science journals, and indexed with Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®) from the NLM controlled vocabulary. Extending back to 1946, annual input now exceeds 700,000 citations. Updated daily, MEDLINE offers novice and expert searchers seamless and up-to-the-minute access to over 23 million of the latest bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,600 biomedicine and life sciences journals in nearly 40 languages (60 languages for older journals). English abstracts are included in more than 80% of the records. (Provided by Publisher)
Maternity and Infant Care Database (MIDIRS)
The Maternity and Infant Care Database from the Midwives Information and Resource Service (MIDIRS) is an important essential resource for academics and healthcare professionals involved in the care of women and infants. This unique database contains over 270,000 bibliographic references with abstracts to articles from over 400 international English language journals, books, guidelines and grey literature relating to the midwifery profession, pregnancy, labor, birth, postnatal care, infant feeding and neonatal care up to the second year of an infant’s life, and the transition to parenthood.
Maternity and Infant Care Database coverage is from 1971 and approximately 1000 records are added to the database per month. The database also includes correspondence and commentary written in response to an article. Many of the records are assigned to one or more of 570 standard searches on key topics in order to provide fast retrieval, using either a code or a browsable index of topics. Key topics include: Antenatal health issues; Hospital policies; Childbirth education; Infant feeding; Complementary therapies; International maternity; Employment issues; Neonatal care and intensive care; Ethical and professional issues; Screening; Health education; Social and psychological aspects; Healthcare professionals role; Sudden infant death and infant mortality; HIV.
The Maternity and Infant Care Database represents a powerful research tool for users around the world. Journals indexed in the database are international from the USA and Canada, Europe, Australia/New Zealand, UK, Africa and the Middle East. In addition grey literature is covered such as pamphlets, reports, web journals, press releases, newspaper articles and chapters in books. (Provided by Publisher).
The following are important databases for this subject area, however if you don't see what you're looking for, please go to the Database Directory for Midwifery to browse a wider selection.
Follow the links below to browse databases for specific types of resources.
You can use our Database Directory to browse a broader range of databases that are relevant to Midwifery as well as other subjects. The directory also allows you to identify databases that provide access to specific types of resources (e.g. Full Text Articles, Streaming Video, Patents, Theses and Dissertations, and much more).
The University of Manchester's research is internationally recognised. Go to Research Explorer, Manchester's research database, to discover the breadth of research produced by staff across the University.
Browse research publications from the Division of Nursing, Midwifery and Social Work (please note: whilst many of the publications listed are available to access/Open Access, some records are for forthcoming titles awaiting publication).
