vLex Justis is home to the largest collection of legal and regulatory information in the world, available all on one service. Updated daily, the award-winning vLex Justis legal database provides access to exclusive collections from both common law and civil law jurisdictions, and enables users to search for cases from over 100 other services and publishers, all on a single platform. Founded over 20 years ago, vLex is an award-winning legal technology provider and market-leading solution for legal research. Since pioneering single-service access to the world’s legal information, vLex now helps millions of users worldwide find information faster, stay up to date with the law, and helps industry-leading firms make better connections between their data and documents. The vLex UK collection contains full-text cases, including reported and unreported judgments, as well as legislative provisions, and much more. Dating back further than any other provider, this resource includes the largest collection of superior court judgments available online.
We have expanded our access to UK Parliamentary Papers to include House of Lords Parliamentary Papers (1800 to 1910), House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (2015 to 2023) and Public Petitions to Parliament (1833 to 1918).
House of Lords Parliamentary Papers, 1800 to 1910
This collection is of international significance, revealing previously unknown material such as statistical data, oral evidence, letters and business papers relating to Britain, and the many parts of the world that were under British influence. Examples include reports relating to the abolition of slavery, evidence presented about the working conditions of children employed in cotton mills and letters from the Governor-General of India describing the Indian rebellion of 1857.
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, 2015 to 2023
This resource allows researchers to explore the British perspective on events from the recent past through an authoritative archive of official government documents including drafts of legislation, and reports from committees. One such source is the Treasury Committee report on “Jobs, growth and productivity after coronavirus” which includes documented oral testimony from Professor Bart van Ark, the Professor of Productivity Studies at the Alliance Manchester Business School.
Public Petitions to Parliament, 1833 to 1918
Petitioning has been a popular form of political participation for centuries, and this collection will allow researchers to exploit new sources on the formative role of petitions to Parliament during the nineteenth century (1833 to 1918), an unparalleled period of political modernisation and democratisation in Britain. This collection illuminates attempts by ‘the people’ to influence Parliament, in contrast to the traditional top-down view of history. Users will be able to analyse the social, geographical, religious, and gender compositions of popular responses to key contemporary issues and undertake detailed textual and rhetorical analysis of the petitions.
In addition to searching across the U.K. Parliamentary Papers database collection (the default option) unticking the Advanced Search option allows you to select and search specific modules, including Hansard (1803-2005) and these recent acquisitions.
This resource will be of particular interest to the University’s interdisciplinary research groups in the Humanities such as the Politics, Institutions and Policy Research Group and the Manchester Centre for Regulation, Governance and Public Law (ManReg).
Max Planck Encyclopaedias of International Law
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL) and Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law (MPEiPro) are comprehensive analytical resources that feature peer-reviewed articles on every aspect of international law. These definitive reference works are the first port of call for anyone interested in international law. The content covers a wide range of subjects including Diplomacy and Consular Relations, Human Rights, International Economic Law, Immunities, Law of Treaties and Theory of International Law plus many more (Provided by Publisher).
The following are important databases for this subject area, however if you don't see what you're looking for, please go to the Database Directory for Law to browse a wider selection.
Follow the links below to browse databases for specific types of resources.
You can use our Database Directory to browse a broader range of databases that are relevant to Law as well as other subjects. The directory also allows you to identify databases that provide access to specific types of resources (e.g. Full Text Articles, Streaming Video, Patents, Theses and Dissertations, and much more).
The University of Manchester's research is internationally recognised. Go to Research Explorer, Manchester's research database, to discover the breadth of research produced by staff across the University.
Browse research publications from the Department of Law (please note: whilst many of the publications listed are available to access/Open Access, some records are for forthcoming titles awaiting publication).
