Subject guides: Engineering Management: Databases

Database Spotlight

Front cover of Sage Research Methods Cases

SAGE Research Methods Cases are stories of how real research projects were conducted. The collection provides more than 1100 case studies, showing the challenges and successes of doing research, written by the researchers themselves. They explain why the researchers chose the methods they did, how they overcame problems in their research and what they might have done differently with hindsight: the realities of research that are missing from journal articles and textbooks. Cases are peer-reviewed and come with pedagogical tools including learning objectives and discussions questions. They can be used as a teaching tool to demonstrate a particular method and how it is applied in real research, or as inspiration to students who are preparing for their own research project.

Business Source Premier

Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier is superior to the competition in full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.

Management databases

ABI Inform Global
ABI Inform is a collection of databases which cover the literature on business, management, computers, human resources and a wide range of related fields. It provides abstracts of material from 1971 onwards and full text from 1987, although not all journals are available in full text. This database indexes over 1,000 journals and magazines.
Business Source Premier
This is the world's largest full text business database. It provides full text access to over 8,000 business journals and other sources, including more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes all disciplines of business, including management, finance, economics and international business. This database provides full text for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1965. This database includes searchable cited references for 1,205 journals. It covers the period from 1984 to date and is updated on a daily basis via EBSCO Host.
Emerald
The Emerald Fulltext service provides access to the full text of articles from over 100 journals covering business, finance, sociology, economics, marketing, health, social care and more.
Factiva
Comprehensive news resource providing international/regional news, trade and industry publications, investment analysis, stock exchange feeds and international news feeds dating back 10 years. This database is extremely useful for a wide range of research such as company information, industry/market trends, new product development, adspend, mergers and acquisitions, economic information etc.
Materials Sciences and Engineering : a SAGE full-text collection (journals).
The SAGE Full-TextCollectionsare discipline-specific research databases of the most popular peer-reviewed journals in [various fields], published by SAGE Publications and participating societies. Includes abstracts and table of contents of all SAGE published journals. Also provides full text access to subscribed titles. SAGE is the natural home for leading authors, editors and societies. Publishing more than 1,000 journals, from a wide range of disciplines, SAGE is here to meet your research and study needs.
Sage Research Methods Cases
SAGE Research Methods Cases are stories of how real research projects were conducted. The collection provides more than 1100 case studies, showing the challenges and successes of doing research, written by the researchers themselves. They explain why the researchers chose the methods they did, how they overcame problems in their research and what they might have done differently with hindsight: the realities of research that are missing from journal articles and textbooks. Cases are peer-reviewed and come with pedagogical tools including learning objectives and discussions questions. They can be used as a teaching tool to demonstrate a particular method and how it is applied in real research, or as inspiration to students who are preparing for their own research project.
Scopus
Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Scopus delivers an overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities. As research becomes increasingly global, interdisciplinary and collaborative, you can make sure that critical research from around the world is not missed.
Web of Science
Web of Science Core Collection provides access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and conference proceedings. Includes current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage to 1900. All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable. Search across all authors and all author affiliations.Track citation activity with Citation Alerts. See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report.Use Analyze Results to identify trends and publication patterns.

Key database categories

Follow the links below to browse databases for specific types of resources.

Database Directory

You can use our Database Directory to browse a broader range of databases that are relevant to Engineering Management, Business and Management as well as other subjects. The directory also allows you to identify databases that provide access to specific types of resources (e.g. Full Text Articles, Streaming Video, Patents, Theses and Dissertations, and much more).

Engineering Management: Databases

Databases provide access to high-quality peer-reviewed journal articles, conference proceedings, book chapters, dissertations and many other resources.

These databases have been especially selected for this subject area. When carrying out your research for a piece of work, you will need to search more than one database to find all of the journal articles relevant to your topic, as each database covers different journal titles.

Database Spotlight

Management databases

Key database categories

Database Directory

Research at the University of Manchester