Arts Management and Museology: Databases

Grove Art Online is available via Oxford Art Online. This database provides access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art.

Used by millions for research, teaching, and learning. With more than a thousand academic journals and over one million images, letters, and other primary sources, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content.

Project MUSE promotes the creation and dissemination of essential humanities and social science resources through collaboration with libraries, publishers, and scholars worldwide. Forged from a partnership between a university press and a library, Project MUSE is a trusted part of the academic and scholarly community it serves. Project MUSE offers complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals and books from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. MUSE provides access to a growing list of scholarly open access content.

Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Scopus delivers an overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities. As research becomes increasingly global, interdisciplinary and collaborative, you can make sure that critical research from around the world is not missed.

ARTstor provides approximately 500,000 images covering artistic traditions across many times and cultures: architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture. Simple personal registration at the ARTstor site gives you access to a wider range of facilities.

The definitive resource for scholarly literature on Western art, the International Bibliography of Art (IBA) is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and retains the editorial policies which made BHA one of the most trusted and frequently consulted sources in the field. The database includes records created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-09, with new records created by ProQuest using the same thesaurus and authority files. The database will grow by 18,000 records per year, ensuring unbroken coverage of journals that were indexed in BHA and IBA prior to 2010. The initial data set created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-2009 covers scholarship up to 2009, including retrospective records for material published in previous years, and in some cases the new ProQuest indexing will also cover retrospective years in order to fill gaps in coverage. Publications covered include at least 500 core journals, with an emphasis on specialist and rare titles that are not covered by other indexes, plus detailed coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues. We aim for at least 60% of the content to be in languages other than English (primarily German, French, Italian and Spanish), with a proportion of this indexing provided by national art libraries and freelance indexers from around the world. This editorial policy will ensure an authoritative overview of international scholarship within broad and interdisciplinary parameters.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. Indexes world's leading arts and humanities journals with selected, relevant items from major science and social science journals. Searchable via Web of Science

BoB (Box of Broadcasts) is an innovative shared online off-air TV and radio recording service for UK higher and further education institutions. The academically-focused BoB system allows staff and students, at subscribing institutions, to record programmes from over 75 free-to-air channels; and search our archive of over 2.2 million broadcasts. Users can create a modern and engaging learning experience that meets the expectations of students, with a reliable and academically focused archive of programmes. BoB is currently used by over 120 universities and colleges to enhance teaching and learning. With BoB you can: Access 2.2 million broadcasts dating back to the 1970s; Record from over 75 free-to-air channels; Create your own playlists, clips and clip compilations; Search programme transcripts and subtitles; Embed content in VLEs and share on social media; One-click citation for easy academic referencing; Available on all devices; Fully accessible by all staff and students; Access content from: BBC One, BBC Two, BBC Four, ITV, Channel 4, Film4 and more, plus 10 foreign language channels: Italian, French and German, and BBC Shakespeare Archive content dating back to the 1950s.