Subject guides: Aerospace Engineering: Databases

Database Spotlight

ESDU - Engineering Sciences Data Unit

Provides validated engineering methods, data, principles, worked examples, programs and related equations on over 1,200 specific aerospace, process, structural and mechanical engineering topics. ESDU engineers, guided by committees of international experts, gather and carefully analyse information from a variety of academic, industry and hard-to-obtain private sources. They develop and validate equations, charts and graphs, guidance notes, and computer programs. Provides engineering analysis and design information. The resulting Design Guides cover such topics as the Aerodynamics of controls, flaps and leading-edge devices; Heat pipe design and performance prediction; Methods of calculating the pressure distribution and loading on aerofoils and wings in high subsonic flow; Principles and data for designing against metal fatigue; Strength analysis of lightweight structures such as those used in aerospace (Provided by Publisher).

Essential databases

The following are important databases for Aerospace Engineering, however if you don't see what you're looking for, please go to the Database Directory for Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering to browse a wider selection.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection provides access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and conference proceedings. Includes current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage to 1900. All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable. Search across all authors and all author affiliations.Track citation activity with Citation Alerts. See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report.Use Analyze Results to identify trends and publication patterns.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Scopus delivers an overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities. As research becomes increasingly global, interdisciplinary and collaborative, you can make sure that critical research from around the world is not missed.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. When combined with the Engineering Index Backfile (1884-1969), Compendex covers well over 120 years of core engineering literature.
ESDU Engineering Sciences Data Unit This link opens in a new window
Provides validated engineering methods, data, principles, worked examples, programs and related equations on over 1,200 specific aerospace, process, structural and mechanical engineering topics. ESDU engineers, guided by committees of international experts, gather and carefully analyse information from a variety of academic, industry and hard-to-obtain private sources. They develop and validate equations, charts and graphs, guidance notes, and computer programsProvides engineering analysis and design information. The resulting Design Guides cover such topics as the Aerodynamics of controls, flaps and leading-edge devices; Heat pipe design and performance prediction; Methods of calculating the pressure distribution and loading on aerofoils and wings in high subsonic flow; Principles and data for designing against metal fatigue; Strength analysis of lightweight structures such as those used in aerospace.
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) - Meeting Papers This link opens in a new window
Every year, AIAA publishes approximately 5,000 papers from AIAA’s Forums and supported conferences. Covering every aspect of aerospace, they represent the most important — and most complete — source of recent research results and innovative thinking in everything from engineering and science to policy and standards. A complete archive, researchers have access to historical first papers published by AIAA in 1963 through current year.
Knovel Aerospace & Radar Technology This link opens in a new window
Knovel combines curated content and databases, online engineering tools and an award-winning, intuitive platform to give today's — and tomorrow's — engineers and researchers the confidence to explore new technical topics, develop products and processes and formulate engineering solutions without fear of overlooking vital data. Content includes data handbooks, encyclopaedias, dictionaries, monographs, conference proceedings and datasets. Data is enhanced with productivity tools (such as interactive tables, graphs and live equations) to help analyze and manipulate the data. The service offers browse and search features. The Advanced Search option supports data searching for over 150 property types, such as physical constants, electrical properties, thermodynamic properties, etc.
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
A collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information created by the world's top technical experts and business professionals representing 135 countries. Covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health & safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
Technology collection This link opens in a new window
The Technology Collection is a full text database that includes Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database and Materials Science & Engineering Database. It provides full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, books/monographs, conference proceedings, reports, newswires, videos, and more in the areas of engineering, technology, materials science, computing, physics, and aerospace.

Key database categories

Follow the links below to browse databases for specific types of resources.

Database Directory

You can use our Database Directory to browse a broader range of databases that are relevant to Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering as well as other subjects. The directory also allows you to identify databases that provide access to specific types of resources (e.g. Full Text Articles, Streaming Video, Patents, Theses and Dissertations, and much more).

Aerospace Engineering: Databases

Databases provide access to high-quality peer-reviewed journal articles, conference proceedings, book chapters, dissertations and many other resources.

These databases have been especially selected for this subject area. When carrying out your research for a piece of work, you will need to search more than one database to find all of the journal articles relevant to your topic, as each database covers different journal titles.

Database Spotlight

Essential databases

Key database categories

Database Directory

Research at the University of Manchester