Social Work: Databases

Community Care Inform Adults

The UK’s largest providers of online resources for social workers and social care professionals. The database's resources are designed by and for social workers and other professionals who work with disabled and older people. The aim of the site is to provide guidance on the latest good practice, research, legislation and case law; and to help improve standards of practice by equipping practitioners with the information they need to confidently make informed decisions and assessments.

Resources include:

• Quick guides: full of top tips; perfect for when you need information on the move or when under pressure.
• In-depth guides: include relevant research, legislation and practice in a particular area, with case examples showing how theory translates into practice; ideal when you are completing assessments, care plans or court reports.
• Knowledge and practice hubs: bring together all of our most relevant resources on a particular topic so you can see at-a-glance what you need to know and what’s available.
• Legislation: easy-to-read digests of key acts of parliament and regulations, with a focus on how the law works in practice.
• The Court Report: pre-recorded webinars with Inform Adults’ legal editor Tim Spencer-Lane that focus on a specific legal issue, including important case law, bills and recently enacted legislative acts.
• Case law: the latest, most significant family court cases and other rulings affecting social workers, summarised in a simple format with straightforward explanations of their impact on social work practice.
• Supported Learning: sophisticated quizzes and interactive case scenarios deliver micro-learning and help practitioners target their learning to match identified knowledge gaps. Anonymised data on results allow managers to better focus their resources and map knowledge gaps across a workforce.
• Infographics: one-page printable images designed to pull out key points for practice.
• Podcasts: the latest research findings and practice insights discussed with expert academics, practitioners and experts-by-experience, so you can learn and refresh your knowledge while on the go.
• Live webinars: timetabled live webinars with presentations delivered by experts by experience and leading researchers and trainers. Webinar recordings are also published after the event, to allow you to watch at a time convenient for you or use for group training.
• Video: case scenarios are role-played by practitioners and actors to help you reflect on what makes for good and effective practice. Our video collection also includes interviews with experts by experience.
• A-Z of medical conditions: a directory explaining key conditions, treatments and effects.

and much more.

(Provided by Publisher)

Oxford Bibliographies Online

Oxford Bibliographies Online is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary resource encompassing material from 43 diverse discipline areas across the humanities, social sciences and sciences.   

Developed in collaboration with scholars worldwide, this database offers authoritative and updated research guides that blend the features of an annotated bibliography with those of a high-level encyclopaedia. Each article serves as an up-to-date, reliable guide to current scholarship across a wide array of disciplines, complete with original commentary and detailed annotations.  

The platform's advanced discoverability tools help users locate the content they need—be it chapters, books, journal articles, websites, blogs, or data sets. Users can sign in to save searches, create personalised lists of citations, and access links to full-text content in print and online.  

Additionally, email alerts notify users of updates to articles and bibliographies.  

With its multidisciplinary scope, Oxford Bibliographies Online is an invaluable resource for teaching and research across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences and complements our access to Oxford Research Encyclopaedias in providing accurate, peer reviewed and regularly updated summaries.  

Community Care Inform Adults

The UK’s largest providers of online resources for social workers and social care professionals. The database's resources are designed by and for social workers and other professionals who work with disabled and older people. The aim of the site is to provide guidance on the latest good practice, research, legislation and case law; and to help improve standards of practice by equipping practitioners with the information they need to confidently make informed decisions and assessments.

Resources include:

• Quick guides: full of top tips; perfect for when you need information on the move or when under pressure.
• In-depth guides: include relevant research, legislation and practice in a particular area, with case examples showing how theory translates into practice; ideal when you are completing assessments, care plans or court reports.
• Knowledge and practice hubs: bring together all of our most relevant resources on a particular topic so you can see at-a-glance what you need to know and what’s available.
• Legislation: easy-to-read digests of key acts of parliament and regulations, with a focus on how the law works in practice.
• The Court Report: pre-recorded webinars with Inform Adults’ legal editor Tim Spencer-Lane that focus on a specific legal issue, including important case law, bills and recently enacted legislative acts.
• Case law: the latest, most significant family court cases and other rulings affecting social workers, summarised in a simple format with straightforward explanations of their impact on social work practice.
• Supported Learning: sophisticated quizzes and interactive case scenarios deliver micro-learning and help practitioners target their learning to match identified knowledge gaps. Anonymised data on results allow managers to better focus their resources and map knowledge gaps across a workforce.
• Infographics: one-page printable images designed to pull out key points for practice.
• Podcasts: the latest research findings and practice insights discussed with expert academics, practitioners and experts-by-experience, so you can learn and refresh your knowledge while on the go.
• Live webinars: timetabled live webinars with presentations delivered by experts by experience and leading researchers and trainers. Webinar recordings are also published after the event, to allow you to watch at a time convenient for you or use for group training.
• Video: case scenarios are role-played by practitioners and actors to help you reflect on what makes for good and effective practice. Our video collection also includes interviews with experts by experience.
• A-Z of medical conditions: a directory explaining key conditions, treatments and effects.

and much more.

(Provided by Publisher)