Aging in the Modern World is a comprehensive multimedia resource and a central component of the Global Issues Library. It offers an in-depth exploration of the multifaceted nature of global aging, presenting diverse cultural perspectives, personal narratives, and scholarly analyses spanning the period from 1900 to 2020. By examining governmental policies, societal attitudes, and critical themes such as ageism, intergenerational relationships, and technological innovation, this resource provides a nuanced understanding of how aging is experienced and represented across different societies and is a critical resource for understanding the challenges and opportunities associated with an aging global population.
This resource offers a diverse collection of primary and secondary sources, including reference materials, personal narratives, multimedia, and archival government documents. Subject areas cover the humanities, social and health sciences and will be of interest to particular interest to the University’s interdisciplinary research groups, including:
DART (Dementia and Ageing Research Team)
HARG (Healthy Ageing Research Group); and
MUARG (Manchester Urban Ageing Research Group)
This resource also forms part of our subscription to the Global Issue Library, which reflects some of the key challenges affecting our world today, including migration, conflict and security, disasters, and environmental issues.
The International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies,
The International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies, 1919-1997, offers a unique collection of primary source material from the archives of the world’s largest humanitarian network.
Documents within the collection date back to the 1919 establishment of the League of Red Cross Societies, which united the National Societies of the UK, USA, France, Italy, and Japan. In 1983, the union extended its boundaries, incorporating Red Crescent Societies from majority Muslim countries. The League was renamed the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC) in 1991.
This digital archive contains two core resources: The Central Registry comprises correspondence and reports exchanged by the League of Red Cross Societies from 1919 to the early 1970s. Digitised files cover topics such as League organisation, conferences, disaster relief, and aid to war victims, along with more specialised material on epidemic diseases.
The Non-Registry collection includes non-centralised material from IFRC departments, alongside Coordinated Relief Bulletins and Relief Bureau Circulars (c.1940s-1980s). These documents report on the activities of National Societies and the IFRC, and provide updates on ongoing disasters, specific needs, and appeals.
Additionally, the archive also provides students, researchers and academic staff with access to over 2,000 files from the Relief Operations Bureau (1970s–80s) and Thematic Operational Files, covering major conflicts such as Vietnam, Korea, and the Middle East.
Part of Gale’s Global Development and Humanitarian Aid Collection, this new collection aligns with the University’s ongoing commitment as a University of Sanctuary. Search in conjunction with resources such as Refugees Relief and Resettlement (cross-searchable on the same platform) and Border and Migration Studies (part of the Global Issues Library) and physical materials housed within our pioneering Humanitarian Archive at The John Rylands Library.
Statista is a global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics, reports, and insights on over 80,000 topics from 22,500 sources in 170 industries (Provided by Publisher).
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). The PMC archive contains more than 8 million full-text article records spanning several centuries of biomedical and life science research (late 1700s to present). This content includes articles that have been formally published in a scholarly journal, author manuscripts that have been peer-reviewed and accepted for publication in a journal, and preprint versions of articles that have been made public prior to peer review. Coverage dates back to the 1950's and includes the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the pre-clinical sciences. Itincludes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources (Provided by Publisher)
The following are important databases for this subject area, however if you don't see what you're looking for, please go to the Database Directory for Public Health and Data to browse a wider selection.
Follow the links below to browse databases for specific types of resources.
You can use our Database Directory to browse a broader range of databases that are relevant to Public Health and Data as well as other subjects. The directory also allows you to identify databases that provide access to specific types of resources (e.g. Full Text Articles, Streaming Video, Patents, Theses and Dissertations, and much more).
The University of Manchester's research is internationally recognised. Go to Research Explorer, Manchester's research database, to discover the breadth of research produced by staff across the University.
Browse research publications from the Division of Informatics, Imaging and Data Sciences and the Division of Population Health, Health Services Research and Primary Care (please note: whilst many of the publications listed are available to access/Open Access, some records are for forthcoming titles awaiting publication).
