Digimap is an online map and data delivery service, available by subscription to UK Higher and Further Education establishments. Operated by EDINA at the University of Edinburgh, Digimap offers a number of data collections, including Ordnance Survey, historical, geological, LiDAR and marine maps and spatial data. Digimap offers access to a range of datasets for the purposes of education and research. Create or interrogate a map online by selecting an appropriate base map, adding annotations and customising the content, use measurement and query tools to learn more about any study area. Download the raw spatial data in a wide range of formats for use in local GIS, CAD or image processing software. (Provided by Publisher).
Global Issues Library is an extensive resource examining major societal challenges such as migration, preservation of human rights, security, and environmental issues. It provides diverse content, such as reports, essays, and letters, documentaries, photographs, and case studies to help analyse historical and current events. Curated by scholars worldwide, it takes an interdisciplinary approach encompassing historical, political, sociological, anthropological and ethical perspectives. Collections include:
This extensive multidisciplinary resource is a valuable resource for teaching and research across Geography, Global Development, Humanitarian and Conflict Response, Politics, Sociology, and Earth and Environmental Sciences. It also aligns closely with the University's Social Responsibility and sustainable development goals.
Environmental History is a rich resource of primary sources and information on environmental issues and human-environment interactions throughout the globe, with a particular focus on regions connected to the British Empire.
Documents, sourced from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, and the Ministry of Overseas Development and Overseas Development Administration, cover a wide range of topics including:
The exploitation of natural resources and colonial land use
Agriculture
Urban development
The technological revolution
Industrial change and urbanization
Conservation
Pollution
Climate
Development programmes and sustainability
Natural resources and industries such as forestry and mining
This archive is particularly valuable to students, staff, and researchers within Geography, Planning, Property and Environmental Management, Global Development Institute and School of Natural Sciences. Use alongside Environment Issues Online (Global Issues Library) to provide broader perspectives and deeper insights into environmental and developmental challenges.
Urban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 51,600 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as: Urban Affairs Review, Urban studies, Journal of Urban Affairs, etc. (Provided by the Publisher).
A significant proportion of the abstracts therein have links to the full text of the associated articles.
The following are important databases for this subject area, however if you don't see what you're looking for, please go to the Database Directory for Planning, Property and Environmental Management to browse a wider selection.
Follow the links below to browse databases for specific types of resources.
You can use our Database Directory to browse a broader range of databases that are relevant to Planning, Property and Environmental Management as well as other subjects. The directory also allows you to identify databases that provide access to specific types of resources (e.g. Full Text Articles, Streaming Video, Patents, Theses and Dissertations, and much more).
The University of Manchester's research is internationally recognised. Go to Research Explorer, Manchester's research database, to discover the breadth of research produced by staff across the University.
Browse research outputs from Planning, Property and Environmental Management (please note: whilst many of the publications listed are available to access/Open Access, some records are for forthcoming titles awaiting publication).
