CAS SciFinder is the world’s most current and relied on source for chemical substance information. Inform your critical research activities with authoritative details on chemical substances and their related chemical structures, chemical names, regulatory information, and properties, including CAS Registry Numbers®.(Provided by Publisher)
The Royal Society Journals Archive 1665-1996
The Journals Archive of the Royal Society is one of the most important collections of scientific publishing in the world. Discover over 350 years of scientific progression within the following titles:
This version of the archive, purchased in perpetuity by the Library to complement our existing holdings, has been re-digitised, and now offers full colour scans of original peer-reviewed articles. Students, researchers and academic staff are given access to key moments in the history of science, from Halley's description of 'his comet' in 1705, work by Alan Turing during his time at The University of Manchester, to collections of articles from pioneering female scientists such as Dame Kathleen Lonsdale; crystallographer, pacifist and prison reform activist.
New content has been added to the collection in the form of annotations, illustrations, and end matter material. Indexed sub-headers, enhanced metadata and the use of MathML ensure that over 740,000 pages on all areas of science are fully searchable, a scope that make the Royal Society Journals Archive unique. As such, it is a valuable resource not only for students and researchers in the University’s Centre for the History of Science, Technology and Medicine, but also in Biosciences, and disciplines within the Faculty of Science and Engineering, including Chemistry, Computer Science, Mathematics, and Physics & Astronomy.
IET Inspec is a scientific and technical database with precise, expert indexing for subject-specific and interdisciplinary research in the fields of engineering, physics and computer science.
It contains over 20 million records of research literature from hundreds of trusted global publishers, and for more than 50 years it’s been an essential discovery tool to numerous prestigious institutions around the world.
Inspec focuses on four main subject areas:
Each of these main subjects contains numerous sub-sections within the same genre (Provided by Publisher).
There are 12.7M records for Physics covering a wide range of areas including astronomy and astrophysics, nuclear physics, particles and fields, and geophysics.
The following are important databases for this subject area, however if you don't see what you're looking for, please go to the Database Directory for Physics and Astronomy to browse a wider selection.
Follow the links below to browse databases for specific types of resources.
You can use our Databases Directory to browse a broader range of databases that are relevant to Physics and Astronomy as well as other subjects. The directory also allows you to identify databases that provide access to specific types of resources (e.g. Full Text Articles, Streaming Video, Patents, Theses and Dissertations, and much more).
The University of Manchester's research is internationally recognised. Go to Research Explorer, Manchester's research database, to discover the breadth of research produced by staff across the University.
Browse research publications from the Department of Physics and Astronomy (please note: whilst many of the publications listed are available to access/Open Access, some records are for forthcoming titles awaiting publication).
