Pharmacy: Key Databases

It covers drug research, pharmacology, pharmacy, pharmacoeconomics, pharmaceutics and toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, basic biological research, health policy and management, public, cccupational and environmental health, substance dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic science and biomedical engineering and instrumentation.

MedicinesComplete provides a comprehensive online resource allowing access to publications including: British national formulary -- Clarke's analysis of drugs and poisons-- Dietary supplements--Herbal medicines Martindale: the complete drug reference -- MeRec bulletins -- Pharmaceutical excipients -- Stockley's drug interactions -- Stockley's interactions alert.

It corresponds to the printed sources Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature and International Nursing Index, which can be used to trace older literature. The National Library of Medicine provides free access to Medline via the PubMed service.

Science Citation Index Expanded (1945 to date)
Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 to date)
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1975 to date)
Conference Proceedings - Science (1990 to date)
Conference Proceedings - Social Science and Humanities (1990 to date)

Subjects include:
Education
Family
Gerontology
Health services
Housing
Mental health services
Nursing
Social work
Substance abuse
1987 to present

n addition to journals, the database covers health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisual materials and Evidence-Based Care Sheets. Full text material includes nearly 80 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. The service also includes the Pre-CINAHL dataset. This provides basic bibliographic information about journal articles before they are indexed with CINAHL headings and serves as a current awareness service.

Coverage includes drug therapy, toxicity and pharmacy practice as well as legislation, regulation, technology, utilisation, biopharmaceutics, information processing, education, economics and ethics as related to pharmaceutical science and practice.

Publications from related disciplines (eg. sociology, linguistics, education, law, physiology, business, psychiatry and anthropology) are scanned and relevant items included within the database. The database is updated monthly. PsycInfo is the electronic equivalent of the printed publication, Psychological Abstracts, which is also available in the library (1927 to date).

n addition to journals, the database covers health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisual materials and Evidence-Based Care Sheets. Full text material includes nearly 80 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. The service also includes the Pre-CINAHL dataset. This provides basic bibliographic information about journal articles before they are indexed with CINAHL headings and serves as a current awareness service.

n addition to journals, the database covers health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisual materials and Evidence-Based Care Sheets. Full text material includes nearly 80 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. The service also includes the Pre-CINAHL dataset. This provides basic bibliographic information about journal articles before they are indexed with CINAHL headings and serves as a current awareness service.

Derived from over 7,000 journals, reports, books and conferences, Global Health contains over 3 million scientific records from 1973 to the present. Almost 155,000 records were added last year, and over 96% of these records include an English abstract.

Subjects include:
Community and mental health services
Crisis intervention
The family and social welfare
Gerontology
Poverty and homelessness
Professional issues in social work
Social services in addiction
Social work education
Social work practice
Violence, abuse, neglect

Subjects include:
Culture and social structure
Family and marriage
History and theory of sociology
Organizational sociology
Political sociology
Poverty and homelessness
Race and ethnicity
Social change and economic development
Social control
Sociology of health and medicine