The Royal Society Journals Archive 1665-1996
The Journals Archive of the Royal Society is one of the most important collections of scientific publishing in the world. Discover over 350 years of scientific progression within the following titles:
This version of the archive, purchased in perpetuity by the Library to complement our existing holdings, has been re-digitised, and now offers full colour scans of original peer-reviewed articles. Students, researchers and academic staff are given access to key moments in the history of science, from Halley's description of 'his comet' in 1705, work by Alan Turing during his time at The University of Manchester, to collections of articles from pioneering female scientists such as Dame Kathleen Lonsdale; crystallographer, pacifist and prison reform activist.
New content has been added to the collection in the form of annotations, illustrations, and end matter material. Indexed sub-headers, enhanced metadata and the use of MathML ensure that over 740,000 pages on all areas of science are fully searchable, a scope that make the Royal Society Journals Archive unique. As such, it is a valuable resource not only for students and researchers in the University’s Centre for the History of Science, Technology and Medicine, but also in Biosciences, and disciplines within the Faculty of Science and Engineering, including Chemistry, Computer Science, Mathematics, and Physics & Astronomy.
zbMATH Open (formerly known as Zentralblatt MATH) is the world's most comprehensive and longest-running abstracting and reviewing service in pure and applied mathematics. It is edited by the European Mathematical Society (EMS), the Heidelberg Academy of Sciences and Humanities, and FIZ Karlsruhe. The editorial work is done by the Berlin office of FIZ Karlsruhe, which as a member of the Leibniz Association is a non-profit company and a recognized organisation serving the public interest. Since January 2021, zbMATH Open has been available as an open access service.
zbMATH Open is set to become a crucial hub in the global network of mathematics information. It connects a large variety of mathematics-relevant information and information services in our open access interface, and aim to enable more links through our APIs.
Currently, zbMATH Open contains around 5 million bibliographic entries with reviews or abstracts drawn from more than 5,000 journals and book series, and some 200,000 books. The coverage, which starts in the 18th century, is complete from 1868 to the present day, due to the integration of the “Jahrbuch über die Fortschritte der Mathematik” data. In 2024, mathematically relevant parts of the arXiv were integrated. zbMATH Open contains more than one million profiles of identified authors connected with various platforms, the swMATH information service about mathematical software, about 50 million references, links to mathematical research data, and connections to various full text and research data platforms or Q&A forums like MathOverflow.
(Provided by Publisher)
The following are important databases for this subject area, however if you don't see what you're looking for, please go to the Database Directory for Mathematics to browse a wider selection.
Follow the links below to browse databases for specific types of resources.
You can use our Database Directory to browse a broader range of databases that are relevant to Mathematics as well as other subjects. The directory also allows you to identify databases that provide access to specific types of resources (e.g. Full Text Articles, Streaming Video, Patents, Theses and Dissertations, and much more).
The University of Manchester's research is internationally recognised. Go to Research Explorer, Manchester's research database, to discover the breadth of research produced by staff across the University.
Browse research publications from the Department of Mathematics (please note: whilst many of the publications listed are available to access/Open Access, some records are for forthcoming titles awaiting publication).
