Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. When combined with the Engineering Index Backfile (1884-1969), Compendex covers well over 120 years of core engineering literature. Compendex is the database of choice for engineering research in more than 1000 institutions and companies worldwide.
The research solution for identifying material properties. SpringerMaterials provides curated data and advanced functionalities to support research in materials science, physics, chemistry, engineering, and other related fields. A comprehensive database covering multiple material classes, property types, and applications
Enhanced data visualization features display interactive crystal structures, data tables, and phase diagrams with export options for further analysis. Search functions optimized for materials science like elemental composition or chemical structure searching to quickly find material property data. Trusted and curated resource with thousands of materials science experts ensuring high data quality (Provided by Publisher).
The following are important databases for this subject area, however if you don't see what you're looking for, please go to the Database Directory for Materials to browse a wider selection.
Follow the links below to browse databases for specific types of resources.
You can use our Database Directory to browse a broader range of databases that are relevant to Materials as well as other subjects. The directory also allows you to identify databases that provide access to specific types of resources (e.g. Full Text Articles, Streaming Video, Patents, Theses and Dissertations, and much more).
The University of Manchester's research is internationally recognised. Go to Research Explorer, Manchester's research database, to discover the breadth of research produced by staff across the University.
Browse research publications from the Department of Materials (please note: whilst many of the publications listed are available to access/Open Access, some records are for forthcoming titles awaiting publication).
