Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA)
LISA: Library and Information Science Abstracts is an international abstracting and indexing tool designed for library professionals and other information specialists. LISA currently abstracts over 440 periodicals from more than 68 countries and in more than 20 different languages.
Subject Coverage
Major areas of coverage include:
Artificial intelligence
Book reviews
CD-ROMs
Computer science applications
Information centres
Information management
Information science
Information storage
Information technology
Internet technology
Knowledge management
Librarianship
Libraries and archives
Library management
Library technology
Library use and users
Medical information
Online information retrieval
Publishing and bookselling
Records management
Telecommunications
Technical services
World Wide Web
Library and Information Science Collection (ProQuest)
This extensive collection includes Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA) and provides access to full text for a wide range of titles including Archives and Records, Collections and Curation, Digital Library Perspectives, International Journal of Librarianship, and many more.
Users can search across all of the featured resources using a single search interface. Subject coverage encompasses a range of topics relating to Library and Information Science including knowledge management, information behaviour, digital and information literacy, archive practice and principles, and so on.
The following are important databases for this subject area, however if you don't see what you're looking for, please go to the Database Directory for Library and Archive Studies to browse a wider selection.
Library Search is a discovery tool which allows you to search for and access resources (articles, books, journals, images etc.) held by or subscribed to by The University of Manchester Library. It pulls together many of the Library’s systems and allows you to search across them simultaneously.
Library Search allows you to search content from across multiple databases (including JSTOR, Web of Science, etc.), however your search may return a great many irrelevant results. Try using the Advanced Search function or refining your search results using the menu that appears on the left-hand side.
For more information, go to our Using Library Search page.
Follow the links below to browse databases for specific types of resources.
You can use our Database Directory to browse a broader range of databases that are relevant to Library and Archive Studies as well as other subjects. The directory also allows you to identify databases that provide access to specific types of resources (e.g. Full Text Articles, Streaming Video, Patents, Theses and Dissertations, and much more).
The University of Manchester's research is internationally recognised. Go to Research Explorer, Manchester's research database, to discover the breadth of research produced by staff across the University.
Browse research outputs from the John Rylands Research Institute (please note: whilst many of the publications listed are available to access/Open Access, some records are for forthcoming titles awaiting publication).
