PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). The PMC archive contains more than 8 million full-text article records spanning several centuries of biomedical and life science research (late 1700s to present). This content includes articles that have been formally published in a scholarly journal, author manuscripts that have been peer-reviewed and accepted for publication in a journal, and preprint versions of articles that have been made public prior to peer review.
The Royal Society Journals Archive 1665-1996
The Journals Archive of the Royal Society is one of the most important collections of scientific publishing in the world. Discover over 350 years of scientific progression within the following titles:
This version of the archive, purchased in perpetuity by the Library to complement our existing holdings, has been re-digitised, and now offers full colour scans of original peer-reviewed articles. Students, researchers and academic staff are given access to key moments in the history of science, from Halley's description of 'his comet' in 1705, work by Alan Turing during his time at The University of Manchester, to collections of articles from pioneering female scientists such as Dame Kathleen Lonsdale; crystallographer, pacifist and prison reform activist.
New content has been added to the collection in the form of annotations, illustrations, and end matter material. Indexed sub-headers, enhanced metadata and the use of MathML ensure that over 740,000 pages on all areas of science are fully searchable, a scope that make the Royal Society Journals Archive unique. As such, it is a valuable resource not only for students and researchers in the University’s Centre for the History of Science, Technology and Medicine, but also in Biosciences, and disciplines within the Faculty of Science and Engineering, including Chemistry, Computer Science, Mathematics, and Physics & Astronomy.
History of science, technology, and medicine (EBSCO)
History of Science, Technology and Medicine reflects the influences these fields have had on society and culture throughout time, from prehistory to the present.
The database includes records of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other related materials (Provided by Publisher).
The following are important databases for this subject area, however if you don't see what you're looking for, please go to the Database Directory for the History of Science, Technology and Medicine to browse a wider selection.
Follow the links below to browse databases for specific types of resources.
You can use our Database Directory to browse a broader range of databases that are relevant to the History of Science, Technology and Medicine as well as other subjects. The directory also allows you to identify databases that provide access to specific types of resources (e.g. Full Text Articles, Streaming Video, Patents, Theses and Dissertations, and much more).
The University of Manchester's research is internationally recognised. Go to Research Explorer, Manchester's research database, to discover the breadth of research produced by staff across the University.
Browse research publications from the Centre for the History of Science, Technology and Medicine (please note: whilst many of the publications listed are available to access/Open Access, some records are for forthcoming titles awaiting publication).
