The UK Data Service is funded by the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) to meet the data needs of researchers, students and teachers from all sectors, including academia, central and local government, charities and foundations, independent research centres, think tanks, and business consultants and the commercial sector. The UK Data Service collection includes major UK government-sponsored surveys, cross-national surveys, longitudinal studies, UK census data, international aggregate, business data, and qualitative data. Data users can browse UK Data Service collections online and register with UKDS to analyse and download them. Open Data collections are available for anyone to use; registration is only required if you wish to download, order, or analyse online, data that are classified as Safeguarded or Controlled.
The UKDS.Stat platform enables you to extract the information you want from large socio-economic international datasets available at the UK Data Service. The World Bank, IMF and OECD datasets are open to all, and do not require login to access. Data from the International Energy Agency (IEA) and the United Nations are restricted to users from UK higher or further education institutions. Users from this community will be prompted to register and login when accessing these data. Logging in allows users to save and share queries.
Statista is a global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics, reports, and insights on over 80,000 topics from 22,500 sources in 170 industries (Provided by Publisher).
Statista provides access to statistics concerning a wide range of industries ranging from agriculture, real estates, energy and environment to media, e-commerce, and technology and telecommunications. Users can also access reports relating to economy and politics, countries and regions, industry and markets, plus many more.
Following a proposal from staff in the Global Development Institute, Department of Geography, and the Alliance Manchester Business School, the Library is pleased to offer full institutional access to UN Comtrade – the world’s most comprehensive global trade data platform.
This resource provides access to global annual and monthly trade statistics as compiled by the United Nations Statistics Division and covers approximately 200 countries with data spanning from 1962 to the present day. Information can be extracted in a variety of formats, including API developer tools for integration into enterprise applications and workflows.
Access to premium features is only possible with an account – click on ‘Log in’ then ‘Sign Up Now’ and register using your University email address.
In collaboration with academics from the Faculty of Humanities, the Library has arranged for electronic access to the complete Making of The Modern World database, a rich collection of digitised primary source material centring on the dynamics of Western trade and wealth from the last half of the fifteenth century to the first half of the twentieth century. Through the lens of industries such as coal, iron, steel, cotton, railways and banking and financial systems, areas as diverse as the rise of the modern labour movement, the evolving status of slavery, the condition and making of the working class, colonization, the Atlantic world, Latin American/Caribbean studies, social history, gender, and the economic theories that championed and challenged capitalism in the nineteenth century can be re-examined. Sourced from a variety of major historical library collections – including those of Senate House, Goldsmiths’, Yale, Columbia, and Harvard’s Kress Library – much of this material is rare and often unique. Whilst topics can be conveniently and readily traced across the database as a whole, MOMW is also grouped into 4 themed collections.
The following are important databases for this subject area, however if you don't see what you're looking for, please go to the Database Directory for Economics to browse a wider selection.
Follow the links below to browse databases for specific types of resources.
You can use our Database Directory to browse a broader range of databases that are relevant to Economics as well as other subjects. The directory also allows you to identify databases that provide access to specific types of resources (e.g. Full Text Articles, Streaming Video, Patents, Theses and Dissertations, and much more).
The University of Manchester's research is internationally recognised. Go to Research Explorer, Manchester's research database, to discover the breadth of research produced by staff across the University.
Browse research publications from the Department of Economics (please note: whilst many of the publications listed are available to access/Open Access, some records are for forthcoming titles awaiting publication).
