MLA International Bibliography
Produced by the Modern Language Association, the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations, with links to full text in JSTOR, Project MUSE, and other resources. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.
China National Knowledge Infrastructure (CNKI) E-Books Service
The Library is excited to announce its subscription to the CNKI E-Books service, offering full-text access and the option to download entire books. With over 9,000 high-quality academic titles from China’s most authoritative scholarly publishers, this service covers a wide range of subject areas, including Art, Language & Literature, History, Nationality & Geography, and Philosophy & Religion. It provides invaluable resources for both research and learning.
The CNKI E-Books collection covers a variety of specialized topics, such as:
This invaluable resource enhances access to authoritative Chinese scholarly content, significantly enriching China-related studies. It is also essential for students working on dissertations and theses that require Chinese-language sources.
Database of Chinese Popular Literature (中國俗文庫)
The Library offers full-text online access to the Database of Chinese Popular Literature (中國俗文庫). It contains over 10,000 vernacular literary works and historical documents from the Han and Wei dynasties onward. It includes novels, dramas, folk songs, proverbs, and more, providing rich insights into everyday life, beliefs, and culture. As a key complement to classical Chinese literature, it is an essential resource for studying the social, religious, literary, and art history of China.
The database is a valuable resource for both research and teaching in early modern Chinese fiction and drama. It supports research by offering a comprehensive corpus with keyword search and parallel reading functions, enabling a broader research scope and the inclusion of additional materials. For teaching, it serves as a primary resource for research exercises, helps students engage with primary texts, and supports dissertation work on Chinese popular literature. Additionally, it enhances course units on mass media and translation studies by highlighting the literary features of pre-Europeanized Chinese texts. The database also promotes self-paced student learning and contributes to research on Chinese religious texts, Confucianism, and Buddhism.
Overall, it is an essential repository of Chinese popular literature and cultural history.
Project MUSE promotes the creation and dissemination of essential humanities and social science resources through collaboration with libraries, publishers, and scholars worldwide. Forged from a partnership between a university press and a library, Project MUSE is a trusted part of the academic and scholarly community it serves.
Project MUSE offers complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals and books from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. MUSE provides access to a growing list of scholarly open access content (Provided by Publisher).
The following are important databases for this subject area, however if you don't see what you're looking for, please go to the Database Directory for East Asian Studies to browse a wider selection.
Follow the links below to browse databases for specific types of resources.
You can use our Database Directory to browse a broader range of databases that are relevant to East Asian Studies as well as other subjects. The directory also allows you to identify databases that provide access to specific types of resources (e.g. Full Text Articles, Streaming Video, Patents, Theses and Dissertations, and much more).
The University of Manchester's research is internationally recognised. Go to Research Explorer, Manchester's research database, to discover the breadth of research produced by staff across the University.
Browse research publications from Modern Languages and Cultures - Japanese Studies and Chinese Studies (please note: whilst many of the publications listed are available to access/Open Access, some records are for forthcoming titles awaiting publication).
