Dentistry: Databases

MEDLINE is a bibliographic database produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. The database contains millions of citations, derived from thousands of biomedical and life science journals, and indexed with Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) from the NLM controlled vocabulary. Extending back to 1946, annual input now exceeds 700,000 citations. Updated daily, MEDLINE offers novice and expert searchers seamless and up-to-the-minute access to over 23 million of the latest bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,600 biomedicine and life sciences journals in nearly 40 languages (60 languages for older journals). English abstracts are included in more than 80% of the records.

Web of Science Core Collection provides access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and conference proceedings. Includes current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage to 1900. All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable. Search across all authors and all author affiliations.Track citation activity with Citation Alerts. See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report.Use Analyze Results to identify trends and publication patterns.

Embase (Excerpta Medica Database) is a biomedical and pharmacological database produced by Elsevier B.V., containing more than 30 million records including articles from more than 8,500 journals published world-wide. It contains bibliographic records with citations, abstracts and indexing derived from biomedical articles in peer reviewed journals, and is especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research, pharmacology and toxicology. Embase adds over 1 million records annually; the original Embase part of the databases contains ca. 20 million records, spanning from 1974 to present, from 6,100 journals. The MEDLINE supplement contains ca. 10 million records from 2,400 journals, with unique records from MEDLINE. Weekly average updates of 4.5K Articles in Press and 11K In Process records on Embase, part of the delivered In Process records overwrite the AiPs. Embase (Fully-indexed) will average 17K records per week. Over the past year Elsevier has processed 350K Conference records, on average 6.8K records per week. Each record contains the full bibliographic citation, indexing terms, and codes; and 80% of all citations in Embase include author-written abstracts. The Embase journal collection is international with peer-reviewed journals from more than 90 countries. Coverage focuses on the following core topics (with significant overlap between topics) representing over 70% of Embase content: Pharmacology and toxicology; General clinical medicine; Genetics, biochemistry & molecular biology; Neurology & behavioral medicine; Microbiology & infectious disease; Cardiology & hematology; Psychiatry & mental health; Oncology; Healthcare policy & management; Allergy & immunology; Pediatrics; Endocrinology & metabolism; Obstetrics & gynecology; Biomedical engineering & medical devices; Anesthesiology & intensive care; Gastroenterology; Respiratory medicine; Nephrology & urology; Dermatology; Geriatrics & gerontology.

The Allied and Complementary Medicine Database (AMED) is a unique bibliographic database produced by the Health Care Information Service of the British Library. It covers a selection of journals in complementary medicine, palliative care, and several professions allied to medicine, including physiotherapy, occupational therapy, rehabilitation, speech and language therapy, and podiatry. All records have basic bibliographic information; many articles published from 1995 onwards have abstracts. Current policy is to include authors' abstracts where available. Each record includes controlled indexing terms using the AMED Thesaurus based on MeSH (Medline indexing terms). The software provided to search AMED usually includes an option of searching using the thesaurus. AMED covers relevant references to articles from over 600 journals, many not indexed by other biomedical sources. The scope of coverage is mainly European with the majority of titles in English. In addition to the specialist journals on AMED's subjects, a range of key general journals are checked for relevant articles.

CINAHL Plus provides indexing for 3,802 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health back to 1937. It covers English-language journals and other publications on nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and other allied health disciplines. In addition to journals, the database covers health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisual materials and Evidence-Based Care Sheets. Full text material includes nearly 80 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. The service also includes the Pre-CINAHL dataset. This provides basic bibliographic information about journal articles before they are indexed with CINAHL headings and serves as a current awareness service.

PubMed is a free internet service developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information at the National Library of Medicine. This database provides access to citations from biomedical literature from a range of sources, including Medline records from 1950 - present.

Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.Trip has been online since 1997 and in that time has developed into the internets premier source of evidence-based content. Our motto is Find evidence fast and this is something we aim to deliver for every single search.As well as research evidence we also allow clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.

The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups.

Best Practice is a completely new concept for information delivered at the point of care. In a single source we have combined the latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion – presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Best Practice provides a second opinion in an instant, without the need for checking multiple resources. Its unique patient-focused approach represents a major new advancement in information delivery at the point of care.

Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Scopus delivers an overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities. As research becomes increasingly global, interdisciplinary and collaborative, you can make sure that critical research from around the world is not missed.

Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source covers all facets relating to the areas of dentistry including dental public health, endodontics, facial pain & surgery, odontology, oral & maxillofacial pathology/surgery/radiology, orthodontology, pediatric dentistry, periodontology, and prosthodontics. The database is updated weekly on EBSCOhost