Includes law textbooks on: Business Law, Company & Commercial Law, Comparative Law, Constitutional & Administrative Law, Contract Law, Criminal Law, Criminology & Criminal Justice, Employment Law, Environment Law, Equity & Trusts, EU Law, Evidence, Family Law, Human Rights & Immigration Law, Intellectual Property Law, International Law, IT & Communications Law, Jurisprudence & Philosophy of Law, Land Law, Legal Practice Courses, Legal Systems & Skills (English Legal System), Medical & Healthcare Law, Tort.
We have expanded our access to UK Parliamentary Papers to include House of Lords Parliamentary Papers (1800 to 1910), House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (2015 to 2023) and Public Petitions to Parliament (1833 to 1918).
House of Lords Parliamentary Papers, 1800 to 1910
This collection is of international significance, revealing previously unknown material such as statistical data, oral evidence, letters and business papers relating to Britain, and the many parts of the world that were under British influence. Examples include reports relating to the abolition of slavery, evidence presented about the working conditions of children employed in cotton mills and letters from the Governor-General of India describing the Indian rebellion of 1857.
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, 2015 to 2023
This resource allows researchers to explore the British perspective on events from the recent past through an authoritative archive of official government documents including drafts of legislation, and reports from committees. One such source is the Treasury Committee report on “Jobs, growth and productivity after coronavirus” which includes documented oral testimony from Professor Bart van Ark, the Professor of Productivity Studies at the Alliance Manchester Business School.
Public Petitions to Parliament, 1833 to 1918
Petitioning has been a popular form of political participation for centuries, and this collection will allow researchers to exploit new sources on the formative role of petitions to Parliament during the nineteenth century (1833 to 1918), an unparalleled period of political modernisation and democratisation in Britain. This collection illuminates attempts by ‘the people’ to influence Parliament, in contrast to the traditional top-down view of history. Users will be able to analyse the social, geographical, religious, and gender compositions of popular responses to key contemporary issues and undertake detailed textual and rhetorical analysis of the petitions.
In addition to searching across the U.K. Parliamentary Papers database collection (the default option) unticking the Advanced Search option allows you to select and search specific modules, including Hansard (1803-2005) and these recent acquisitions.
This resource will be of particular interest to the University’s interdisciplinary research groups in the Humanities such as the Politics, Institutions and Policy Research Group and the Manchester Centre for Regulation, Governance and Public Law (ManReg).
Oxford Bibliographies Online is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary resource encompassing material from 43 diverse discipline areas across the humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Developed in collaboration with scholars worldwide, this database offers authoritative and updated research guides that blend the features of an annotated bibliography with those of a high-level encyclopaedia. Each article serves as an up-to-date, reliable guide to current scholarship across a wide array of disciplines, complete with original commentary and detailed annotations.
The platform's advanced discoverability tools help users locate the content they need—be it chapters, books, journal articles, websites, blogs, or data sets. Users can sign in to save searches, create personalised lists of citations, and access links to full-text content in print and online.
Additionally, email alerts notify users of updates to articles and bibliographies.
With its multidisciplinary scope, Oxford Bibliographies Online is an invaluable resource for teaching and research across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences and complements our access to Oxford Research Encyclopaedias in providing accurate, peer reviewed and regularly updated summaries.
HeinOnline Law Journal Library
The Law Journal Library is HeinOnline's signature collection of more than 3,000 fully searchable, image-based journals, each dating back to the first issue ever published. This scholarly journals database spans more than 41 million pages bridging a crucial research gap. Every document in the library is an exact recreation of its print counterpart, while still providing the ease and speed that accompanies online searching. To improve discoverability of relevant content, this database has also been integrated with a number of unique artificial intelligence tools and research aids. Though initially named the "Law" Journal Library for the content it originally contained, this resource has grown from a small collection of law reviews to a multidisciplinary journals database spanning tens of millions of pages. Its coverage is comprehensive and includes works from 60 different countries, as well as 50 states and the District of Columbia. The journals in this database span more than 1,500 research subjects (Provided by Publisher)
The following are important databases for this subject area, however if you don't see what you're looking for, please go to the Database Directory for Criminology to browse a wider selection.
Follow the links below to browse databases for specific types of resources.
You can use our Database Directory to browse a broader range of databases that are relevant to Criminology as well as other subjects. The directory also allows you to identify databases that provide access to specific types of resources (e.g. Full Text Articles, Streaming Video, Patents, Theses and Dissertations, and much more).
The University of Manchester's research is internationally recognised. Go to Research Explorer, Manchester's research database, to discover the breadth of research produced by staff across the University.
Browse research publications from the Department of Criminology (please note: whilst many of the publications listed are available to access/Open Access, some records are for forthcoming titles awaiting publication).
