Brill's New Pauly is the English edition of the authoritative Der Neue Pauly, published by Verlag J.B. Metzler since 1996. The encyclopaedic coverage and high academic standard of the work, the interdisciplinary and contemporary approach and clear and accessible presentation have made the New Pauly the unrivalled modern reference work for the ancient world (Provided by Publisher).
The Cambridge Histories series is one of the most respected reference collections in academia. Now extending to over 400 volumes, titles nominally encompass 10 subject areas: American History; Ancient History & Classical Studies; Asian History; British & European History; Global History; Literature; Middle East & African Studies; Music & Theatre; Philosophy & Political Thought and Religion. However, it is worth noting that the topics addressed extend across the full range of the humanities, encompassing longstanding series, such as those documenting the history of the major global religions, but also recent innovations such as the World History series, which traces the development and chronology of fields as diverse as Food, Medical Ethics, Sexualities and Slavery.
Often incorporating contributions by University of Manchester academics, the collections offer invaluable contextual introductions for first-time researchers as well as regular monthly updates on developing areas of scholarship. The library has recently undertaken a review exercise to ensure online access to all available electronic titles and instituted a subscription for the addition of annual releases to ensure consistent and comprehensive access to this flagship reference series.
The Cambridge Histories also complement other recent state-of-the art and regularly updated reference material recently added to the Library’s holdings – most notably Oxford Bibliographies and Oxford Research Encyclopedias.
Oxford Bibliographies Online is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary resource encompassing material from 43 diverse discipline areas across the humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Developed in collaboration with scholars worldwide, this database offers authoritative and updated research guides that blend the features of an annotated bibliography with those of a high-level encyclopaedia. Each article serves as an up-to-date, reliable guide to current scholarship across a wide array of disciplines, complete with original commentary and detailed annotations.
The platform's advanced discoverability tools help users locate the content they need—be it chapters, books, journal articles, websites, blogs, or data sets. Users can sign in to save searches, create personalised lists of citations, and access links to full-text content in print and online.
Additionally, email alerts notify users of updates to articles and bibliographies.
With its multidisciplinary scope, Oxford Bibliographies Online is an invaluable resource for teaching and research across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences and complements our access to Oxford Research Encyclopaedias in providing accurate, peer reviewed and regularly updated summaries.
Translated Texts for Historians E-Library
Compiling material from 3 longstanding and well-respected book series this newly-launched digital compilation by Liverpool University Press makes available a range of historical sources from A.D. 300-800 translated into English, in many cases for the first time. Complementing the Aris & Phillips Classical Texts Online collection, the Translated Texts for Historians E-Library also extends the language pool of its source material beyond Greek and Latin to incorporate languages as varied as Armenian, Gothic and Old Irish, together with those of the Islamicate world, including Syriac and Arabic, giving researchers access and opportunity to widen both their reading and potential sources of comparison and contrast. The scope of the material within the repository is equally diverse and incorporates chronicles, letters, annals, formularies, political speeches, military and theological handbooks, poems, biblical and theological commentaries, sermons, church histories and records, Christian and pagan panegyric and polemic and lives of saints, bishops and popes.
Over 90 titles are now readily accessible and the collection might perhaps be best viewed as a foundational digital reserve for scholars operating across the Humanities at Manchester, either within the traditional confines of classics, ancient history and religions and theology, or interdisciplinary research groupings such as the Centre for Medieval and Early Modern Studies (MEMS).
In line with our standard practice to ease discovery, in addition to offering a link to the collection as a discrete database, the library has ensured that each volume - a selection of which can be seen above - is individually indexed. You can also move seamlessly across the platform to view the Aris & Phillips Classical Texts Online collection which is also now newly accessible to researchers.
Aris & Phillips Classical Texts Online
Founded in 1979, the Aris & Phillips series of modern editions of Classical Greek and Latin texts has long been commended and recommended for its accessibility. The substantial introductions, facing-page text and English translation, together with extensive accompanying commentaries, means that its appeal is as much to undergraduates without Greek or Latin and those learning the original language as it is to Classicists.
Recognising this and after fruitful conversations with academic colleagues in CAHAE the library is delighted to offer full and equitable access to the newly launched digital collection of over 150 volumes from within the series. More than half of these texts are now electronically available for the first time and include acclaimed complete editions of dramatists such as Aristophanes and Euripides, together with the wealth of foundational thought, philosophy, poetry, satire and history illustrated above.
Complementing the longstanding digital Loeb Library, the Aris & Phillips portfolio is summarised by its General Editor, Professor Alan Sommerstein, as “featuring works by 36 major and nearly 50 fragmentary authors, with a range stretching from the Aegean in the time of King Midas to England in the time of Richard Coeur de Lion” and, in short, offers an invaluable entry point to the classical world for scholars across the humanities.
The ‘Reading Flow’ option allows researchers to directly compare text and translation side-by-side and you can also move easily across the platform to view the Translated Texts for Historians E-Library which is also now newly accessible. As is standard practice, individual works in both collections are also readily locatable through Library Search.
Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum
Recent acquisitions to support epigraphical scholarship in Classics include the Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum which systematically compiles newly published Greek inscriptions and incorporates a critical apparatus. Summaries of new readings, interpretations, and studies of known inscriptions are also offered. A subscription to The Journal of Epigraphic Studies has also been initiated to further facilitate research activity in this field.
The Perseus Digital Library is an Open Access resource hosted by the Department of Classical Studies at Tufts University. The main collection covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world. The Library contains a large database of images (coins, vases, sculpture), Greek and Latin texts and translations, resources for textual studies, and English word searches of the texts.
The following are useful databases for these subject areas, however if you don't see what you're looking for, please go to the Database Directory to browse a wider selection (for subject refined lists, choose from Classics, Ancient History, Archaeology, Egyptology).
Follow the links below to browse databases for specific types of resources.
You can use our Database Directory to browse a broader range of databases that are relevant to Classics, Ancient History, Archaeology, and Egyptology as well as other subjects. The directory also allows you to identify databases that provide access to specific types of resources (e.g. Full Text Articles, Streaming Video, Patents, Theses and Dissertations, and much more).
Follow the links below to explore lists of databases refined by subject area.
The University of Manchester's research is internationally recognised. Go to Research Explorer, Manchester's research database, to discover the breadth of research produced by staff across the University.
Browse research publications from the Department of Classics, Ancient History, Archaeology and Egyptology (please note: whilst many of the publications listed are available to access/Open Access, some records are for forthcoming titles awaiting publication).
