Skip to Main Content

Psychological Sciences: Evidence-based practice

Critical Appraisal

  • CASP: the Critical Skills Appraisal Programme - includes checklists and workshops.
  • CEBM - Critical Appraisal Tools - Centre for Evidence Based Medicine, Oxford.

EBP websites: Canada

Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (CADTH

Therapeutics Initiative: Evidence-Based Drug Therapy - University of British Columbia, Vancouver

Systematic Reviews

  • Cochrane Library is a collection of seven separate databases. Five of these provide coverage of evidence-based medicine and the other two provide information on research methodology.
  • CRD (Centre for Reviews and Dissemination) is part of the National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) and is a department of the University of York. CRD provide the DARE, NHS EED and HTA databases in the Cochrane Library as well as guidance for those undetaking a systematic review.

Evidence-based searching

  • NHS Evidence provides access to quality health and social care evidence and best practice. The Medicines section (still in development) brings together information from sources including the BNF, eMC, MHRA (NHS login required for some databases and journals).
  • TRIP (Turning Research into Practice) Database provides access to a large collection of evidence based and other high-quality medical information via a single interface. The service searches PubMed for evidence-based articles whilst also retrieving evidence-based internet resources, guidelines, query-answering services, e-textbooks, medical images, and patient information leaflets.
Creative Commons Licence This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International Licence.

You can use this box to make notes on this page. Please contact us if you encounter any problems with this tool or if you have any feedback. Ensure you email your notes to yourself before you close your browser.

 

Save:
Save as text file:
Email notes to yourself:
>
Notes