Subject guides: Human Communication and Deafness: Evidence-based Practice

University of Manchester Systematic Review guide

University of Manchester Library Systematic Review
The systematic review is primarily aimed at Medical and Human Sciences staff or postgraduate students. Visit the systematic review page to find out more.

Critical Appraisal

CASP - the Critical Skills Appraisal Programme
The Critical Appraisal Skills Programme (CASP) is a non profit making entity and is part of Better Value Healthcare which is based in Oxford. The programme has developed workshops and tools for critical appraisal covering a wide range of research. It has also developed finding the evidence workshops, interactive and e-learning resources.
CEBM - Critical Appraisal Tools
This website contains details of learning resources available from the Centre and collaborative departments. CEBM aims to develop, teach and promote evidence-based health care through conferences, workshops and EBM tools so that all health care professionals can maintain the highest standards of medicine.

PubMed Blog : Expert searching

PubMed Search Strategies Blog - good starting point for tricky searches in any database using MeSH, free text terms too for some topics.

Evidence-based searching

Grey matters
Grey matters: a practical search tool for evidence-based medicine - includes resources for a number of European countries.
NHS Evidence
NICE Evidence Services are a suite of services that provide internet access to high quality authoritative evidence and best practice. The services cover health, social care and public health evidence. Evidence Services aim to help professionals make better and quicker evidence based decisions.
more...less...
NICE Evidence Services consists of 6 resources:
• Evidence Search
• Healthcare Database Advanced Search (HDAS)
• Clinical Knowledge Summaries (CKS)
• BNF microsite
• UK DUETS
• Bulletins, Alerts and Evidence Awareness service
Trip Pro- Database
TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) Database provides access to a large collection of evidence based and other high quality medical information via a single interface.
more...less...
The service searches PubMed for evidence-based articles whilst also retrieving evidence-based internet resources, systematic reviews, guidelines, query-answering services, e-textbooks, medical images, and patient-information leaflets.

My Learning Essentials

Getting started with subject databases

This resource explores some of the key features of subject databases, demonstrating that while they can initially appear daunting and complicated, they can be as easy to use as any online shopping site.

Critical appraisal for medical and health sciences

This resource explores the process of critically appraising articles to make it easier to quickly decide which of the thousands of research papers are published every month you should spend your time reading.

View all workshops and online resources in this area on the My Learning Essentials webpages.

Systematic Reviews

Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of seven separate databases. Five of these provide coverage of evidence-based medicine and the other two provide information on research methodology.
CRD (Centre for Reviews and Dissemination)
CRD is part of the National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) and is a department of the University of York. CRD provide the DARE, NHS EED and HTA databases in the Cochrane Library as well as guidance for those undertaking a systematic review.
CRD Systematic Review book
"recommended for statistically minded researchers who need solutions to commonly encountered problems in the review of medical studies in the review of medical studies, and also for reviewers and practitoners". The Lancet.