Urban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 51,600 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as: Urban Affairs Review, Urban studies, Journal of Urban Affairs, etc. (Provided by the Publisher).
A significant proportion of the abstracts therein have links to the full text of the associated articles.
Library Stack is a unique archive and lending library with digital collections relating to art, design, film, architecture, experimental sound and critical theory. By working directly with a variety of publishers, firms, artists, and academics, Library Stack provides access to a diverse array of born-digital resources ranging from articles, eBooks and zines to podcasts, music and films.
In addition to providing digital publications from established commercial publishers including Aperture, Sternberg and MACK, Library Stack’s ongoing collaboration with small independent presses, companies, and individuals means that users can access resources that exist outside of mainstream academic and commercial publishing.
The content on offer will be of interest to students across a wide variety of courses here at the University and represents a rich and varied range of innovative formats that extend beyond traditional outputs such as articles and books - including software, sound recordings, and artworks.
Students and staff from the University of Manchester should register using their University email address in order to gain access to both the Open Access and reserved circulation items. By creating an account, you can also make use of the ‘Bookshelf’ feature which allows you to borrow reserved circulation items and save, organise and annotate items, creating your own collections based on your research interests.
As a result of heavy usage during the library’s innovative ProQuest trial of primary resources which ran for the course of the last academic year to support researchers in the Humanities, the Library has now purchased Art and Architecture Archive.
This major research resource incorporates the digitized back-files of many of the foremost art and architecture magazines of the twentieth century. Offering full text and high-resolution access to the archives of key consumer and trade publications, it comprises an invaluable collection of essential primary sources for studying the history of these disciplines. In addition to general periodicals such as Apollo (1925-2005) which offer feature pieces and an opportunity to investigate the contemporary reception of specific works and exhibitions the collection incorporates extensive back-files of two key architectural periodicals, The Architectural Review (1896-2005) and Architects’ Journal (1929-2005).
The ability to cross-search these periodicals within a single database allows researchers to readily locate a comprehensive body of primary source material relating to particular practitioners, topics and movements, across a variety of publications and document types. A single search may therefore return industry news items, interviews with major architects, and features about technological developments, as well as high-quality photographs / illustrations, architectural plans, statistics, and reviews, so providing a straightforward ‘first step’ for independent research. To further facilitate discovery all periodical titles in the collection are also now individually indexed on Library Search.
The following are important databases for this subject area, however if you don't see what you're looking for, please go to the Database Directory for Architecture to browse a wider selection.
Follow the links below to browse databases for specific types of resources.
You can use our Database Directory to browse databases that are relevant to Architecture and other subjects. The directory also allows you to identify databases that provide access to specific types of resources (e.g. Full Text Articles, Streaming Video, eBooks, Theses and Dissertations and much more).
The University of Manchester's research is internationally recognised. Go to Research Explorer, Manchester's research database, to discover the breadth of research produced by staff across the University.
Browse research publications from the Department of Architecture (please note: whilst many of the publications listed are available to access/Open Access, some records are for forthcoming titles awaiting publication).
