Databases provide access to many different types of sources. This includes primary sources such as newspaper articles, image collections, or digitised archives, as well as secondary sources such as peer-reviewed journal articles, conference proceedings, book chapters, and dissertations.
These databases have been especially highlighted for this subject area, but there are many more that you might want to explore. The other subject guides available on the Library website are a good place to start.
When carrying out your research for a piece of work, you will need to search more than one database to find all of the journal articles relevant to your topic, as each database covers different journals.
Newspaper databases
The library provides comprehensive access to a vast archive of British and overseas newspapers, including electronic access to many current publications. Newspapers are an excellent primary source research tool, not only providing reports about events and issues but also editorials and letters that can be extremely useful for deeper understanding.
Access the Newspaper guide for further information.
Nota bene: There may also be copies on microfilm or microfiche, for which readers are located on Green Ground floor in the Main Library.
Special Collections of the University of Manchester Library
The Special Collections of the University of Manchester support research and teaching across a broad spectrum of historical themes and disciplines from women's history and local studies to the history of warfare and the development of popular culture.
You are welcome to make use of Special Collections in your learning and research. Due to the special nature of the material, we provide access in a controlled environment and there are some restrictions on use and access, particularly for fragile material or modern archives which may contain sensitive data.
Please read our guidance pages on the web for details.
Search the Special Collections page for more resources not covered by Library Search.
The John Rylands Research Institute and Library based at Deansgate houses one of the finest collections of rare books, manuscripts and archives in the world and includes key collections for British and International social, political and economic movements. Browse collections by A-Z or by subject.
Other source collections
Getting started with subject databases
This set of online resources will demonstrate the process of performing a search on a number of database platforms.
View all workshops and online resources in this area on the My Learning Essentials webpages.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International Licence.
You can use this box to make notes on this page. Please contact us if you encounter any problems with this tool or if you have any feedback. Ensure you email your notes to yourself before you close your browser.
|
||
| Save: | ||
| Save as text file: | ||
| Email notes to yourself: | ||