Newspapers: UK Newspapers

Sourced from the extensive holdings of the British Library, British Library Newspapers delivers a wide range of irreplaceable local and regional voices to reflect the social, political, and cultural events of the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries. These newspapers, emerging during the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries as a crucial channel of information in towns and major cities, provide researchers with a unique, first-hand perspective on history. With more than 240 newspaper titles, the series is comprised of approximately 6.4 million pages of historic content, from articles to advertisements. This collection illuminates diverse and distinct regional attitudes, cultures, and vernaculars, providing an alternative viewpoint to the London-centric national press over a period of more than 200 years.

International news service covering politics, economics, culture, business, science and technology.

Comprehensive news resource providing international/regional news, trade and industry publications, investment analysis, stock exchange feeds and international news feeds dating back 10 years. This database is extremely useful for a wide range of research such as company information, industry/market trends, new product development, adspend, mergers and acquisitions, economic information etc.

These historical newspapers provide genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. This database provides full access to these British historical newspapers: Users can study the progression of issues over time by browsing issues of The Guardian and its sister paper, The Observer, which offer coverage of 1821-2003 and 1791-2003, respectively, including news articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, and more.

A database containing the full text of unreported cases from 1981 to date and tax cases from 1875 to date. Other older cases go back to the late nineteenth century. As it is primarily an American database it also contains a wealth of American material, but also European, Commonwealth and international information. For UK and Irish regional and national newspapers click on 'Content' then 'Newspapers'.

The UKPressOnline database is a spectacular resource for historians, publishers and the public - anyone who wants to explore history as seen by the reporters and commentators who were there. With every page available in thumbnail, small preview, full-size view and ready-to-print PDF with live text, and page-by-page browse of editions, this is one of the easiest on-line newspaper archives to explore. Text searchable access to full page facsimiles of the Daily Mirror archive, 1903 to current; Daily Express archive, 1900 to current; Sunday Express archive, 2000 to current; Daily Star archive, 2000 to current; Daily Star Sunday archive, 2002 to current.

Sourced from the extensive holdings of the British Library, British Library Newspapers delivers a wide range of irreplaceable local and regional voices to reflect the social, political, and cultural events of the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries. These newspapers, emerging during the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries as a crucial channel of information in towns and major cities, provide researchers with a unique, first-hand perspective on history. With more than 240 newspaper titles, the series is comprised of approximately 6.4 million pages of historic content, from articles to advertisements. This collection illuminates diverse and distinct regional attitudes, cultures, and vernaculars, providing an alternative viewpoint to the London-centric national press over a period of more than 200 years.

The Daily Mail has been at the heart of British journalism since 1896, regularly changing the course of government policy and setting the national debate. Its website is among the most visited news sites in the world. The Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2016 includes more than one hundred years of this major UK national newspaper, viewable in full digital facsimile form, with copious advertisements, news stories, and images that capture twentieth-century culture and society.

Comprehensive online archive for every Economist issue published 1843 - 2006 (for later articles see Factiva or ABI Inform)

Comprehensive archive for every Financial Times article published 1888 - 2006 (for later articles see Factiva)

Gale Historical Newspapers and Periodicals are fully available via the Gale Primary Sources: Newspaper & Periodical Databases cross-search, which replaces Gale NewsVault as the platform to access FULLY TEXT-SEARCHABLE ARCHIVES OF NEWSPAPER AND PERIODICAL CONTENT. The new design makes it easier to isolate newspaper and periodical content to search. It also includes an improved database list, featuring descriptions for each available database, as well as the ability to link out to the standalone database experience. New search features include the ability to limit your search by a list of available countries, states, provinces, and cities; Name and Subject Expansion, which looks for pseudonyms and synonyms of your search term; and access to our Topic Finder and Term Frequency textual analysis tools.

With its debut in 1842 the Illustrated London News became the world's first illustrated weekly newspaper, sparking a revolution in journalism and news reporting. The publication presented a vivid picture of British and world events - including news of war, disasters, royalty, social affairs, the arts and science. The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003 includes every published issue, from the first in 1842 to the last in 2003. Entirely full-text searchable with high-quality digital imaging from flat unbound print sets, it combines information and the power of pictures to provide unique perspective on virtually every aspect of modern life and those who helped shape it over more than 160 years. The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003 covers a wide range of subject areas in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries making it an invaluable resource for multi-disciplinary research.

The Independent is a major British daily national newspaper, launched in 1986 as an antidote to its often overtly political rivals. Its evolution over a quarter of a century has been considerable, but the publication has also retained a unique position in British journalism. Featuring journalists and columnists from across the political spectrum, the paper is generally regarded as centrist, presenting fresh, alternative views on the free market, social issues, and culture. Over the last thirty years, the Independent has taken strong campaigning positions on issues such as drug legislation, the war on terror, and the environment. It received the Newspaper of the Year award in 1987 by What the Papers Say Awards, a BBC radio and television program. It received the award during its first full year of publication, and by the end of 1988, its circulation had risen to more than 400,000. This success led to the launch of The Independent on Sunday in January 1990.

A complete online facsimile edition of every issue of the weekly BBC magazine, The Listener. Established in 1929, it was developed as a medium of record for the reproduction of broadcast talks originally aired on the BBC, initially on radio and later on television. This archive preserves and allows full access to what in many cases is the only record of early broadcasts. The Listener also previewed major literary and musical broadcasts and reviewed books. The Listener was a weekly magazine established by the BBC in 1929 under its director-general, Lord Reith. It was the intellectual counterpart to the BBC listings magazine, Radio Times. Developed as the medium for reproducing broadcast talks -- initially on radio, but in later years television as well -- The Listener is one of the few records and means of accessing the content of many early broadcasts. In addition to commenting expanding on the intellectual broadcasts of the week, The Listener also previewed major literary and musical shows and regularly reviewed new books.

Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages and provides users with access to a growing collection of key journals in the humanities and social sciences. Currently, Periodicals Archive Online contains over 700 journals comprising more than 3 million articles and 15 million article pages. Periodicals Archive Online continues to add new titles, to give undergraduate and graduate students, university faculty and libraries access to a growing collection of key journals in the humanities and social sciences.

The Picture Post Historical Archive comprises the complete archive of the Picture Post from its first issue in 1938 to its last in 1957 - all digitized from originals in full colour. Picture Post's innovative use of photo-journalism captured the imagination of the British people, with readership at its peak estimated at 80% of the population. In the era before television, it became the window on the world for ordinary people, bringing the major social and political issues of the day into popular consciousness. Above all, Picture Post provides a fascinating snapshot of British life from the 1930s to the 1950s, with thousands of photos of ordinary people doing ordinary things - from boys rolling a tyre, to a view of a postwar bedsit, to young women on a rollercoaster - all caught in a single moment in time.

These historical newspapers provide genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. This database provides full access to these British historical newspapers: Users can study the progression of issues over time by browsing issues of The Guardian and its sister paper, The Observer, which offer coverage of 1821-2003 and 1791-2003, respectively, including news articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, and more.

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Since 1822, The Sunday Times has provided thoughtful analysis and commentary on the week's news and society at large. Murder, theatre, sport and politics - all collide in its pages in an abundance of glorious narrative detail. In more than 800,000 pages, The Sunday Times Digital Archive is a gateway to the greatest crimes, careers and culture of the last 180 years. The Sunday Times Digital Archive 1822-2016 brings two centuries of news together in one resource, providing the complete run of the newspaper up to 2016, including all of its supplements, in one cross-searchable and browseable platform.

The Telegraph Historical Archive is the fully searchable digital archive of what was once the world's largest-selling newspaper. Researchers and students can full-text search across 1 million pages of the newspaper's backfile from its first issue to the end of 2016, including issues of the Sunday Telegraph from 1961. Launched in 1855, the Telegraph is generally seen by press historians as the start of a new era of journalism that emerged following the repeal of stamp duty and signalling the first step towards the mass-market journalism of the Daily Mail. Directed at a wealthy, well-educated readership, the newspaper is commonly associated with traditional Toryism despite its more liberal beginnings, especially in regard to foreign policy.

The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of the Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage, with every page of every issue from 1785 to 2012. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context. Read by both world leaders and the general public, the Times has offered readers in-depth, award-winning, objective coverage of world events since its creation in 1785 and is the oldest daily newspaper in continuous publication.

Since 1902, the Times Literary Supplement has forged a reputation for fine writing, literary discoveries, and insightful debate. The TLS has attracted the contributions of the world's most influential writers and critics, from T.S. Eliot and Virginia Woolf in the 1920s and 1930s to A.N. Wilson and Christopher Hitchens in the 1990s and 2000s. The complete run of the TLS from 1902 to 2019 is now available online as The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive. This collection includes the complete run of The Times Literary Supplement. Among over 300,000 reviews, letters, poems, and articles, users will find the contemporary criticism of scholars such as Christopher Ricks and George Steiner, the reviews of award-winning novels of A.S. Byatt and Joyce Carol Oates, and the philosophical works of Thomas Nagel, Daniel Dennett, and Richard Dawkins. They can also track the discoveries of explorers Redmond O'Hanlon and Robin Hanbury-Tenison.

The UKPressOnline database is a spectacular resource for historians, publishers and the public - anyone who wants to explore history as seen by the reporters and commentators who were there. With every page available in thumbnail, small preview, full-size view and ready-to-print PDF with live text, and page-by-page browse of editions, this is one of the easiest on-line newspaper archives to explore. Text searchable access to full page facsimiles of the Daily Mirror archive, 1903 to current; Daily Express archive, 1900 to current; Sunday Express archive, 2000 to current; Daily Star archive, 2000 to current; Daily Star Sunday archive, 2002 to current.

The Waterloo Directory is a subject-inclusive, language-inclusive bibliography of 50,000 publications, 48,000 personal names, 4,572 issuing bodies and 756 subjects covering the period 1800-1900.