Mathematics: Books

You can access your course reading lists in Blackboard. Log in via MyManchester, then click the ‘Reading Lists Online’ link in the left-hand menu to see your lists, or use the link below:

Find help and support with all aspects of locating, using and borrowing resources.

You can find e-books by searching the Library Search or by using the links below:

You can find e-books by searching the Library Search or by using the links below:

The University of Manchester Library is one of the largest subscribers to e-journals and databases in the UK but we don’t have access to everything.

If you find that we don’t hold a book, report, journal article or conference paper that you need, you can use our Inter-Library Loans service.

• B.S.Everitt. Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics
• I. Grattan-Guinness. Companion Encyclopedia of the History and Philosophy of the Mathematical Sciences. 2 vols. Routledge, 1994.
• E.W. Weisstein. CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics. Chapman and Hall, 1999. 
• D. Zwillinger. CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae. 32nd edn. Chapman & Hall/CRC Pr., 2012.
• G.J.G Upton & I. Cook. Dictionary of Statistics. 3rd edn. Oxford UP., 2014.
• Encyclopaedia of Mathematics. 10 vols plus supplements. Kluwer, 1988- . 
• Encyclopedia of Optimization. 2nd ed., 2009. 
• K. Ito. Encyclopedic Dictionary of Mathematics. 2 vols. 2nd edn. MIT Press,1993.
• J.W.Harris & H. Stocker. Handbook of Mathematics and Computational Science. Springer, 1998.
• D. Nelson. Penguin Dictionary of Mathematics. 4th ed. Penguin, 2008.
• Royal Society Mathematical Tables. 11 vol. Cambridge UP.,1950-68.
• I.S. Gradshteyn & I.M. Ryzhik. Table of Integrals, Series and Products. 8th ed. Oxford : Academic 2015.

The following titles reflect the most recent textbooks purchased by the University of Manchester Library for your studies and research.

To have this list show up in your own RSS feed, click "Feed" at the bottom of this page. 

It is worthwhile carrying out a search on Google Books to see if a book is available to view online.

If you have a reading list for your course and the books are in use by other students, you can check to see if it has been fully or partially digitised by Google.

Hard copy PhD theses before 2009 produced at The University of Manchester are held at the Joule Library.

You can use Library Search for a thesis, make a note of the shelfmark (eg Th 16574), bring the number to the issue counter and we will retrieve it for you. Please note that they are reference only and cannot be removed from the Library.

We do not hold Masters or undergraduate theses.

Below is a link to our dedicated thesis support page.

Doctoral/Research Theses

Electronic versions of many open-access University of Manchester research theses, submitted from the 2010 session onwards, are available on Pure, the University of Manchester’s internal repository.

An E-books section lists suppliers and collections of electronic books.

Collections

• Cornell Library Historical Mathematics Monographs. A collection of over 500 selected mathematics monographs with expired copyrights, mainly from the 19th and early 20th centuries.
• Electronic Research Archive for Mathematics: Jahrbuch Database (JFM). Sponsored by the EMS, this free database - based on the Jahrbuch über die Fortschritte der Mathematik - includes links to many digitized books (and other materials) from the period 1868-1942.
• University of Michigan Historical Mathematics Collection. A growing collection of digitized texts from the 19th and early 20th centuries.

Individual Works

These are freely available works not recorded in the Library catalogue.

• Hatcher, A. Algebraic topology. Cambridge University Press, 2002.
• Hatcher. A. Vector bundles & K-theory. About 110 pages of a "fairly short book" planned to focus on topological K-theory.