Skip to Main Content

Chemical Engineering: Design resources

Chemical properties (databases)

Safety data sheets (SDS)

https://www.sigmaaldrich.com

http://www.ilpi.com/msds

Physical Sciences Data Science Service

https://www.psds.ac.uk/

DETHERM (mixtures)

https://dechema.psds.ac.uk/

Help video for DETHERM - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XJqP0CtmIX8

Phase equilibrium (Journals)

Fluid Phase Equilibria

Journal of Chemical and Engineering Data

Reaction kinetics, catalyst properties (Journals)

Reaction Kinetics, Mechanisms and Catalysis

Progress in Reaction Kinetics and Mechanism

Equipment Sizing

Mechanical engineering

Sinnott and Towler (2020) Chemical Engineering Design, 6^th ed., Ch. 13

Hall (2018) Rules of Thumb for Chemical Engineers (6^th ed.)

Materials of construction, insulation

Smith (2016) Chemical Process Design and Integration (2^nd ed., Appendix B)

Green et al. (2008) Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook (8^th ed.,Chapter 26)

References

Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook

Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook

Sustainable Technologies

Abraham (2017) Encyclopedia of Sustainable Technologies

Industrial practice

Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry

Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology (Library 660.3 KIR)

Process economics

Equipment cost correlations

Sinnott and Towler (2020) Chemical Engineering Design, 6^th ed.
Smith (2016) Chemical Process Design and Integration
Peters, Timmerhaus and West (2004), Plant Design and Economics for Chemical Engineers (660.013 PET, not online)

Economic Indicators

Chemical Engineering

Chemical costs

ICIS Chemical Business

Energy costs

UK government industrial energy price statistics

Journals and books

Databases: Literature searching

Scopus Elsevier

Sci Finder (needs individual login)

Trade Journals

Chemical Engineer (via Library)

Chemical Engineering Progress- American Institute of Chemical Engineers

Chemical Engineering

Creative Commons Licence

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International Licence.