Subject guides: Chemical Engineering: Reference works

Patent databases

Derwent Innovations Index - Web of Science
Is the key database for information about patents.
more...less...
It provides you with international patent information. Details of nearly 15 million patents are included. There are three sections: Chemical, Engineering and Electrical and Electronic.
Espacenet
the UK Patent Office's gateway in a Europe-wide initiative that includes access to various national patent databases.
more...less...
It includes Great Britain (1979-), other European countries, the European Patent Office, Japan, and a worldwide database with over 30 million documents. In some cases the full text is available.
European Patent Office
The patent office for Europe supporting innovation, competitiveness and economic growth across Europe through our commitment to high quality and efficient services delivered under the European Patent Convention.
Free Patents Online
Contains a wide range of information, articles and latest news about Patents.
Reaxys
is a very large web-based search and retrieval system that offers extensive coverage of information in organic, inorganic and organometallic chemistry.
more...less...
Reaxys is based on the combined content of Beilstein Crossfire, Gmelin and the Patent Chemistry Database (PCD).
SciFInder
SciFinder retrieves information contained in databases produced by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) as well as in the Medline database of the National Library of Medicine (NLM):
more...less...
CAplus
Covers literature from 1907 to the present plus selected pre-1907 references. Sources include journals, patents, conference proceedings, dissertations, technical reports and books. Coverage includes chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering and related sciences.
Medline
Covers biomedical literature from 1950 to the present.
CAS REGISTRY
Provides information about specific chemical substances, including organic and inorganic compounds, sequences, coordination compounds, polymers and alloys from 1957 to the present, with some classes going back to the early 1900s.
CASREACT
Provides reaction information for single- and multiple-step reactions from 1907 to the present.
CHEMCATS
Provides chemical source information, including supplier addresses and pricing information, derived from current chemical catalogs and libraries.
US Patent and Trademark Office
as well as providing general information, this site provides access to the USPTO Web Patent Database which contains the full text of US patents from 1790 to the present.