Skip to Main Content

Art History and Visual Studies: Resources

Resources

Welcome to your subject resource pages. You will find information on books, databases, journal articles and websites to help you with your studies. 

  • Books: access to searching and finding books and ebooks.
  • Databases: online access to a range of journal articles and abstracts in your subject area.
  • Journal articles: access to the Library’s extensive e-journals collection.

Art and Archaeology Site Library

The Art and Archaeology Site Library is located on the fourth floor of the Mansfield Cooper Building.

The collections include art and archaeology books that supplement the stock of the Main Library and contain copies of recommended reading and core texts.

There are also undergraduate and postgraduate theses/dissertations and art history journals.

Information can be provided on the use of the image databases subscribed to by the Library, including the LUNA database which has a dedicated Arts, Histories and Cultures section.

The DVD/Video collection contains feature films and documentaries. Items from the collection are available for one night loan.

My Learning Essentials

Planning and reviewing your search
Searching for information is easy. Finding a manageable number of high-quality, relevant results can be more difficult. This resource explores the process of planning a search to ensure that you get the best results for your work. It also highlights techniques you can use to refine your searches if you don’t get the results you expect first time around.

Getting started with search tools
There are so many places to search for information to include in your academic work, it can often be difficult to know where to start. To enable you to make an informed choice when selecting where to search for information, this resource explores Google, Google Scholar, subject databases and Library Search, highlighting their strengths and weaknesses.

View all workshops and online resources in this area on the My Learning Essentials webpages.

Specialist Library Support

The Library provides expert support to students, staff and researchers in the specialist areas of business data, copyright, maths and statistics, referencing support, advanced searching and systematic reviews. This includes:

If you’ve tried our online resources and workshops and need more help, you can get expert help via our online help pages, attending a drop-in session, giving us a call or arranging a consultation.

Creative Commons Licence This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International Licence.

You can use this box to make notes on this page. Please contact us if you encounter any problems with this tool or if you have any feedback. Ensure you email your notes to yourself before you close your browser.

 

Save:
Save as text file:
Email notes to yourself:
>
Notes