Subject guides: Pharmacy: Evidence-based Practice

University of Manchester Systematic Review guide

University of Manchester Library Systematic Review
The systematic review is primarily aimed at Medical and Human Sciences staff or postgraduate students. Visit the systematic review page to find out more.

CASP: the Critical Skills Appraisal Programme - includes checklists and workshops
CEBM - Critical Appraisal Tools - Centre for Evidence Based Medicine, Oxford

Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (CADTH

CRD (Centre for Reviews and Dissemination)
CRD is part of the National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) and is a department of the University of York. CRD provide the DARE, NHS EED and HTA databases in the Cochrane Library as well as guidance for those undetaking a systematic review
CRD Systematic Review book
"recommended for statistically minded researchers who need solutions to commonly encountered problems in the review of medical studies in the review of medical studies, and also for reviewers and practioners" The Lancet
ScHARR
(School of Health and Related Research ,University of Sheffield) Alongside its research activities, ScHARR runs courses.
Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of seven separate databases. Five of these provide coverage of evidence-based medicine and the other two provide information on research methodology.

Grey matters
Grey matters: a practical search tool for evidence-based medicine - includes resources for a number of European countries.
NHS Evidence
NICE Evidence Services are a suite of services that provide internet access to high quality authoritative evidence and best practice. The services cover health, social care and public health evidence. Evidence Services aim to help professionals make better and quicker evidence based decisions.
more...less...
NICE Evidence Services consists of 6 resources:
• Evidence Search
• Healthcare Database Advanced Search (HDAS)
• Clinical Knowledge Summaries (CKS)
• BNF microsite
• UK DUETS
• Bulletins, Alerts and Evidence Awareness service
Trip Pro- Database
TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) Database provides access to a large collection of evidence based and other high quality medical information via a single interface.
more...less...
The service searches PubMed for evidence-based articles whilst also retrieving evidence-based internet resources, systematic reviews, guidelines, query-answering services, e-textbooks, medical images, and patient-information leaflets.

PubMed Search Strategies Blog - good starting point for tricky searches in any database using MeSH, free text terms too for some topics