Citation analysis can give you not only quantitative but also qualitative information. Our service includes training and guidance enabling you to assess the citation impact of your own research.
Find out more about citation analysis.
Pure aims to sustain and enhance the research reputations of individuals and organisations affiliated with the University. We provide dedicated support and advice to all users of the service.
Find out more about Pure.
Developments in the scholarly communication landscape have created new opportunities and pressures to consider when choosing where to publish your research. This service provides assistance in the publication and promotion of your research, including guidance on Open Access publishing.
Find out more about the Scholarly Communication Service.
All data needs to be managed somehow, even if that means merely knowing where it is stored, and what the context of the data is. For research data however, this is rarely enough, and our Research Data Management Service will help you get to grips with the requirements of funding bodies and University policy.
Find out more about Research Data Management
The Open Access movement is a worldwide effort to make scholarly work available online to everyone, regardless of their ability to pay for access. Many funding bodies now insist that scholarly work arising from their funding be made Open Access. There are two ways to make papers Open Access:
1. Gold – via journals
2. Green – via repositories
The Library provides support for researchers at the University who want to publish Open Access. Further information can be found on the Open Access at Manchester website.
The Open Access movement is a worldwide effort to make scholarly work available online to everyone, regardless of their ability to pay for access. Many funding bodies now insist that scholarly work arising from their funding be made Open Access. There are two ways to make papers Open Access:
1. Gold – via journals
2. Green – via repositories
The Library provides support for researchers at the University who want to publish Open Access. Further information can be found on the Open Access at Manchester website.
The Library's guide to referencing includes detailed information on:
Grey literature refers to research that is either unpublished or has been published in non-commercial form. The term includes the following types of information:
The British Library reports, Conferences and Theses can be searched for through the British Library Integrated Catalogue.
Use these p tags if you need multiple paragraphs
The Conference Proceedings Citation Index Literature via Web of Science is taken from the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions worldwide. Available in two editions: Sciences & Technology and Social Science Literature from the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions worldwide. Available in two editions: Sciences & Technology and Social Science.
Google Scholar provides a quick way to search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. You can find articles, theses, books, abstracts and grey literature from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other sources.
Grey Net provides information about grey literature. GreySource Index provides a list of web-based grey literature resources.
MIAR is a matrix of data from more than 100 international indexing and abstracting databases (citation, multidisciplinary or specialised databases) and journal repertoires, which is developed with the purpose of providing useful information for the identification of scientific journals and the analysis of their diffusion. The system works through the elaboration of a correspondence matrix between the journals, identified by their ISSN, and the databases and directories that index or include them.
MIAR has more than 48,000 journal records, but a search in MIAR using a valid ISSN number will return information on the diffusion of any journal in the world at the sources analysed by MIAR, whether or not it has its own record in MIAR.
MIAR 2023 live. Information Matrix for the Analysis of Journals.
OpenGrey is a multidisciplinary European resource which provides open access to 700,000 bibliographical references of grey literature produced in Europe. It covers science, technology, biomedical science, economics, social science and humanities.
Examples of grey literature include technical or research reports, doctoral dissertations, conference papers and official publications.
Science.gov searches over 55 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. Science.gov is governed by the interagency Science.gov Alliance.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences.
Scopus is a user-friendly database covering some 12,000 journals from all aspects of science, technology and medicine, with some quite sophisticated features.
My Research Essentials is our developing programme of training workshops, information sessions, and online resources that are relevant to researchers at all career stages. The topics we cover range from resources to use during the research process to recent developments scholarly communication tools and research funder policy requirements. Examples of our support include:
Introduction to Citation Analysis - (online resource)
You've spent a lot of time on making sure your research is cutting edge and packed full of insight and new discoveries; now you want to get an impression of the influence it's having.
This online module provides an introduction to Citation Analysis. It starts by looking at what a citation is, and explains why it's not always true that the more citations a publication receives, the more influential it is.
You’ll see how average levels of citation are different in different academic disciplines, and how percentiles can be used to assess the citation impact of a publication.
Seven steps to raising your research profile - (workshop)
Getting noticed, promoting yourself and your research online
This workshop will help you develop strategies for managing your online research presence by considering the following questions:
View all workshops and online resources in this area on the My Research Essentials webpages.
Most major research universities use institutional repositories to store records of their scholarly work. Institutional repositories are sometimes also used to disseminate research. They are valuable to researchers for various reasons:
Pure is our institutional repository. For other repositories search the Directory of Open Access Repositories.
Do you need to visit other university libraries? You can use SCONUL (Society of College, National and University Libraries) which is a co-operative venture between most of the UK’s higher education libraries.
It enables academic staff, part-time, distance learning, full time postgraduate and placement students to borrow material from other libraries. So if you can’t visit the University of Manchester Library then you can access your local academic libraries using the SCONUL scheme.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International Licence.