Skip to main content

Medicine: Databases

What is a database?

Databases provide access to high-quality peer-reviewed journal articles, conference proceedings, book chapters, dissertations and other sources.

These databases have been especially chosen for this subject area.

When carrying out your research for a piece of work, you will need to search more than one database to find all of the journal articles relevant to your topic, as each database covers different journals.

Key databases-General Science

Key databases-Evidence-based practice

Key databases-Nursing/Health Management

Specialist topics

Current research

External online tutorials

Online tutorials can help you to develop your skills: work through the course at your own pace, and use the index or glossary to look up topics or terminology.

  • Engage in Research - interactive resources on reviewing literature, planning research and writing scientifically
  • Intute Virtual Training Suite is a set of online tutorials, written by subject specialists and designed to help students, lecturers and researchers improve their internet information skills. The range includes Internet for Medicine and Internet Bioresearcher.

My Learning Essentials

Getting results: guides to searching databases
This set of online resources will demonstrate the process of performing a search on a number of database platforms.

Critical appraisal for medical and health sciences
Thousands of research papers are published every month; they can vary in quality and many will not be relevant to your practice.

This resource explores the process of critically appraising articles to make it easier to quickly decide which ones you should spend your time reading.

View all workshops and online resources in this area on the
My Learning Essentials webpages.

General databases-Biomedical

 

Newspaper databases

The library provides comprehensive access to a vast archive of British and overseas newspapers, including electronic access to many current publications. Newspapers are an excellent primary source research tool, not only providing reports about events and issues but also editorials and letters that can be extremely useful for deeper understanding. Access the Newspaper guide for further information.

What is grey literature?

Grey literature refers to research that is either unpublished or has been published in non-commercial form. The term includes the following types of information:

  • government reports, policy statements and issued papers.
  • pre-prints and post-prints of articles.
  • theses and dissertations.
  • research reports.
  • geological and geophysical surveys.
  • maps.
  • newsletters and bulletins.
  • fact sheets.

British Library

The British Library reports, Conferences and Theses can be searched for through the British Library Integrated Catalogue.

Use these p tags if you need multiple paragraphs

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a quick way to search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. You can find articles, theses, books, abstracts and grey literature from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other sources.

 

GreyNet: Grey Literature

Grey Net provides information about grey literature. GreySource Index provides a list of web-based grey literature resources.

 

Open Doar

OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories.

 

OpenGrey

OpenGrey is a multidisciplinary European resource which provides open access to 700,000 bibliographical references of grey literature produced in Europe. It covers science, technology, biomedical science, economics, social science and humanities.
Examples of grey literature include technical or research reports, doctoral dissertations, conference papers and official publications.

 

Science Gov

Science.gov searches over 55 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. Science.gov is governed by the interagency Science.gov Alliance

 

Social Science Research Network

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences.

 

UK International Repository Search

The UK International Repository searches across 130 UK academic repositories. Document types includes Report, Conference Object, Working paper.

 

Scopus

Scopus is a user-friendly database covering some 12,000 journals from all aspects of science, technology and medicine, with some quite sophisticated features.

 

Grey literature-Medicine

Creative Commons Licence This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International Licence.

You can use this box to make notes on this page. Please contact us if you encounter any problems with this tool or if you have any feedback. Ensure you email your notes to yourself before you close your browser.

 

Save:
Save as text file:
Email notes to yourself:
>
Notes