Skip to main content

Statistics guide at the University of Manchester: UK data

Key UK statistics resources

UK Census Resources

Census Material  - available via the National Archives

UK Data Service Census Support - Provides access to and support for the resources of the population censuses from 1971 to 2011. Registration required

Online Historical Population Reports - All published census reports for England, Wales, Scotland and Ireland, for the period 1801-1937

Other UK Resources

The Royal Statistical Guide - Learned and professional society for the science and application of statistics, promoting their use for public benefit.

UK Statistics Authority - Statistics on National Insurance Number Allocations to Adult Overseas Nationals

Key database

Statistical terms glossary

Statistics search engine

UK Governmental Statistics

Official site for all government statistics. Fully searchable site and contains stats already published and upcoming stats from 2010 onwards

Data.gov.uk Public data to help people understand how government works and how policies are made. Datasets are available from all central government departments, a number of other public sector bodies and local authorities.

Statistics – GOV.UK Official Statistics are produced impartially and free from political influence.

Statistics – release calendar – GOV.UK – Official Statistical Announcements

Gov.uk - UK government website - includes links to government departments, publications information and press releases.

Hansard Online – Contains a complete record of debates and speeches in both the House of Commons and the House of Lords.

Legislation.gov.uk – Many Acts of Parliament and Statutory Instruments and Rules contain statistics on a wide range of topics.

Welsh Government Statistics

National Records of Scotland – Statistics and Data

Northern Ireland Statistics and Research Agency

The Agricultural Census (AG) - The Agricultural Census (AG) provides users with information by Government departments dealing with Agriculture and Rural affairs

Public Sector

NHS Digital - The national provider of information, data and IT systems for health and social care

Department for Communities and Local Government - Statistics

CIPFA Information Services – performance in public services

Creative Commons Licence This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International Licence.

You can use this box to make notes on this page. Please contact us if you encounter any problems with this tool or if you have any feedback. Ensure you email your notes to yourself before you close your browser.

 

Save:
Save as text file:
Email notes to yourself:
>
Notes