Skip to main content

Newspapers: Home

Welcome to the Library guide for newspapers

The Library provides comprehensive access to a vast archive of British and overseas newspapers, including electronic access to many current publications. Newspapers are an excellent primary source research tool, not only providing reports about events and issues but also editorials and letters that can be extremely useful for deeper understanding. Having access to such a broad range of publications allows you to research and compare different styles of reportage and contemporary responses to significant events. In addition to illustrating the response to events, newspaper articles can be of historical significance in their own right.

My Learning Essentials

To help you get the most out of the resources listed in this library guide you may find it useful to explore the following set of online resources.

Getting results: guides to searching databases
This set of online resources will demonstrate the process of performing a search on a number of database platforms.

Introducing Special Collections

Using the Library's Special Collections in your studies can enrich your work; they are a valuable source of primary material spanning five millennia and covering a broad spectrum of subjects.This resource introduces the different types of materials found in Special Collections, explaining what they are and how they can be used to support your studies. There are also tips on how to find relevant material and how to get started in using the collections.

View all workshops and online resources in this area on the My Learning Essentials webpages.

Library news

Visit the Library website for the latest Library news. Alternatively connect with the Library Twitter and Facebook accounts to be kept up-to-date on all Library news.

      

Creative Commons Licence This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International Licence.

You can use this box to make notes on this page. Please contact us if you encounter any problems with this tool or if you have any feedback. Ensure you email your notes to yourself before you close your browser.

 

Save:
Save as text file:
Email notes to yourself:
>
Notes