Skip to main content

Referencing guide at the University of Manchester: Reference Manager

IMPORTANT: Support Notice

Thomson Reuters have announced they are no longer supporting their Reference Manger product and have halted any further sales of the product.  If you have installed Reference Manager previously, you can carry on using this but there will be no updates available in the future and new installations are not allowed. 

Reference Manager will continue to be made available on the staff and student managed desktops but it will not be updated or supported.

 In order to migrate from Reference Manager to EndNote you can access a video tutorial (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ek6wy7QvDeI). Written guidance is available on the Thomson Reuters website (http://endnote.com/support/reference-manager).

Reference Manager

Reference Manager is a popular bibliographic reference manager package, available only for Windows, which allows you to:

  • create a database of references
  • insert citations and create bibliographies
  • import bibliographic data from the library databases and library catalogues

The University of Manchester has a site license for Reference Manager and the package is installed on public PC clusters for on-campus use.

  • You may obtain copies for use on other University-owned machines on or off campus from IT Services.
  • If you wish to use the software on a machine not owned by the University of Manchester you must purchase a personal license from Adept Scientific.

Uses of Reference Manager

  • Available for Windows only.
  • Input bibliographic data manually or import from external database.
  • Link references electronically to full text sources.
  • Wide range of reference types (e.g. book, journal) or create custom type.
  • All standard reference styles including many journals.
  • Specify citation and bibliographic formats.
  • Specify different citation styles for individual reference types.
  • Add notes and keywords to any record.

Welcome to Reference Manager

Online Tutorials

Creative Commons Licence This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International Licence.

You can use this box to make notes on this page. Please contact us if you encounter any problems with this tool or if you have any feedback. Ensure you email your notes to yourself before you close your browser.

 

Save:
Save as text file:
Email notes to yourself:
>
Notes