Skip to main content

History of Science, Technology and Medicine: Subject websites

Archives

Discussion lists

  • CHEM-HIST. A history of chemistry electronic discussion group.
  • CompHist. Recently established e-mail list from the SHOT special interest group on the History of Computing. 
  • H-Sci-Med-Tech. A general list established in 1997.
  • HISTMED. A list intended to "facilitate communication among the history of medicine community in the United Kingdom", administered by the Centre for the History of Medicine at the University of Warwick.
  • HISTORY-OF-COMPUTING-UK. Established in 1998 for the NAHC. 
  • LIS-SCI-MED-EMPIRE. A rarely used JISCMAIL list established in 1998 relating to the relationship between science, medicine and the growth of colonialism.
  • Mersenne.  "...promoting discussion in the science studies community".

History of Medicine

History of Science

History of Technology

Iconographic collections

  • Anatomia, 1522-1867. This collection features approximately 4500 full page plates and other significant illustrations of human anatomy taken from 95 individual works from the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library, University of Toronto.
  • Emilio Segré Visual Archives. Images from some 5,000 photographs, lithographs etc held at the AIP's Neils Bohr Library. Devoted mainly to US physicists and astronomers, but includes images of some European scientists too.
  • Image Archive on the American Eugenics Movement. A growing archive of more than 2,200 items which includes books and papers as well as pictoral images.
  • Images from the Clendening Library. Several hundred images taken from medical and natural history texts, most of which were printed before 1800. Organized by theme.
  • Images from the History of Medicine (IHM). Nearly 60,000 images taken from the prints and photograph collection of the History of Medicine Division of the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
  • Index of Medieval Medical Images (IMMI). A project to index and take images from medieval medical manuscripts in North American collections.
  • Wellcome Trust Medical Photographic Library. More than 160,000 images from the "world's leading source of images on the history of medicine, modern biomedical science and clinical medicine."

Libraries

Musuems

Websites

Research institutions

Science communication

Intute - Psci-com.  A catalogue of resources covering public engagement with science, science communication and the impact of science on society, plus a calendar of events, and a link to the Psci-com electronic discussion list.

Specialist libraries

Subject gateways, hubs and portals

Creative Commons Licence This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International Licence.

You can use this box to make notes on this page. Please contact us if you encounter any problems with this tool or if you have any feedback. Ensure you email your notes to yourself before you close your browser.

 

Save:
Save as text file:
Email notes to yourself:
>
Notes