Skip to main content

Theses: Manchester Theses

Manchester Print Collection

The main collection of over 60,000 Manchester theses is held at the Joule Library in the Sackville Street Building. All theses are reference only and can only be used within the Library.

The quickest way to consult a thesis is to go to the Joule Library in person .  You can ask for theses at the Joule Library counter - advance requests are not necessary.  Simply search the catalogue for a thesis, make a note of the shelfmark (eg Th 16574), bring the number to the issue counter and we will retrieve it for you.

In addition to the Joule Library the Art and Archaeology and Kantorowich libraries also hold thesis collections.

The Library collects mainly doctoral and research masters theses (though in earlier years a wider range of theses were retained).

Details of all theses, including those from the former Victoria University of Manchester and UMIST, can be found using Library Search.

Manchester electronic theses

Electronic copies of all Open Access Manchester Postgraduate Research theses (from 2010 onwards) are available free to view and download using Library Search. The Library Search record for the thesis you wish to view will take you to a link in Pure, the University’s institutional repository, where you will be able to view a PDF version of the thesis.

You can search for Theses using the following instructions:

  • Using the advanced search option in Library Search, enter your search terms;
  • Choose ‘theses’ in the ‘material type’ drop-down box;
  • Both print and electronic theses will be displayed; if you only want to view eTheses at this stage, you can refine your results by clicking on the show only ‘full text online’ option on the left hand side.

The University’s research outputs, including Open Access eTheses, are available via the institutional repository, Pure.

To find out more about Pure, please visit the Pure support website.

Older doctoral theses of The University of Manchester are made available electronically from the British Library's Electronic Theses Online Service (EThOS)., many of which are also available online via Library Search.

EThOS charge a £50 fee to customers for digitising any theses that are not currently available on their database.

Theses retrieval

A retrieval service is in operation and theses can be reserved for you to use at the Joule Library, or can be sent to the Main Library (High Demand) or Precinct Library for consultation if it is more convenient for you. Theses will normally be available for consultation at either the Main Library (High Demand) or Precinct Library within 48 hours. Theses retrievals must be requested in advance using the Retrieval form on the Library Catalogue.

We do not hold Masters or undergraduate theses – please check with your school directly for more information.

Loan and purchase of theses

  • Older doctoral theses are available to researchers on demand from the British Library's EThOS service.
  • Where only a physical copy of a thesis is available, these cannot be loaned or copied. See Theses retrieval for information on accessing these resources.
  • Any requests for loans of non-doctoral theses from The University of Manchester made by individuals within the UK via a UK library can be lent out to the library in question for reference purposes only.
  • Theses which are loaned out to other libraries can only be consulted by the person who made the request to see it.
  • Loans of theses from the University of Manchester to UK customers are dealt with by the Document Supply Unit.
  • Copies of non-doctoral theses and dissertations may be purchased by individuals via UK libraries or by individuals overseas.
  • The University of Manchester does not sell copies of its theses to other libraries for addition to their collections.
  • All enquiries about buying our non-doctoral theses and dissertations should be sent via the Library's general enquiries page. Alternatively, contact the Joule Library during Monday – Friday, 10am – 4pm.
  • Theses are subject to the same copyright laws as other published material.
  • A copy of a non-doctoral thesis or dissertation will be supplied on the understanding that it is copyright material and that no quotation from the thesis may be published without proper acknowledgement.

Submitting your theses

Postgraduate research students at Manchester are required to submit an electronic version of their examination and final corrected thesis. This applies to students studying towards the qualifications:

  • Doctor of: Philosophy (PhD)
  • Engineering (EngD)
  • Enterprise (EntD)
  • Business Administration (DBA)
  • Medicine (MD)
  • Master of: Philosophy (MPhil)
  • Research (MRes, certain Schools only). 

Please see the Library’s eThesis Support Service pages for more information on the eThesis submission process.

Printing and binding your thesis

The Library no longer provides binding services. Binding services are provided by Hollingworth & Moss Ltd, for whom we are agents.

The University of Manchester is an introduction agent for Hollingworth and Moss Ltd and has no authority or ability to negotiate or vary the services or terms of the services offered on this website or enter into any contract on behalf of Hollingworth and Moss Ltd. The University receives a commission for any purchases made from Hollingworth and Moss Ltd via this website.

General theses enquiries

Enquiries relating to the Library’s thesis collection should be sent via the Library’s General Enquiries page.

 

For enquiries relating to eThesis submission, please contact the eThesis Support Service:

 

eThesis Support Service

University of Manchester Library

Tel: +44 (0)161 275 8728 (internal: x58728)

Email: uml.scholarlycommunication@manchester.ac.uk

Web: http://www.manchester.ac.uk/eThesis

Creative Commons Licence This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International Licence.

You can use this box to make notes on this page. Please contact us if you encounter any problems with this tool or if you have any feedback. Ensure you email your notes to yourself before you close your browser.

 

Save:
Save as text file:
Email notes to yourself:
>
Notes