Skip to main content

Business and Management: Databases

What is a database?

Business databases contain Company Information, Market Research, Business News, ​Peer reviewed journal articles and conference proceedings. When you are carrying out your research for a piece of coursework you will need to search on more than one database to locate the relevant information. This is due to the fact that each database contains different journals so searching multiple databases is fairly important in order to locate the key information for your subject.

Accessing specialist financial research databases

Students can access all databases at the Finance Zone  which is located on the ground floor of the Dover Street Building.

You can also obtain research assistance and access to Datastream & Bloomberg via the Precinct Library. However use of these PCs requires booking via My Manchester (with the Precinct Library study rooms). For Specialist Financial Database enquiries email: uml.bds@manchester.ac.uk .

Databases: Markets and sectors. UK - Consumer and industrial

The University of Manchester Library subscribes to a number of databases providing market research & industry sector data from established market intelligence providers. These databases include tailored reports, statistical data, and the latest news from a variety of sectors. The scope of information varies from database to database:

Databases: International trade

Databases:Business news

The University of Manchester Library subscribes a number of excellent sources of trade and industry news (both current and historic). Trade and industry news can provide you with an essential understanding of current events and allows you to:

  • Track sector trends: latest developments influencing markets.
  • Track company trends: latest company developments eg: recent financial filings.
  • Track financial market trends: which stock is up, which stock is down.
  • Track latest economic trends: what is happening to influence the economy.
  • Track latest political events: find out what is influencing political decisions.

Databases: Markets and sectors. Sector specific - international

Business law

Key Database - Datastream

Datastream gives you access to historical financial markets data and economic data worldwide.

It provides a range of charting and reporting tools that enable you to manipulate and display, or simply download that data in the way that you want.

With Datastream you also have Microsoft Excel add-ins that enable you to access the Datastream database directly from within Excel - create and embed data requests that put the data you want straight into your spreadsheet.

Datastream data coverage:

  • Derivatives
  • Company fundamentals from Worldscope
  • Economics
  • Interest rates
  • Exchange rates
  • Equities
  • Equity indices
  • Fixed income securities and associated indices
  • Commodities

Databases: Countries and regions

Databases: International companies

Databases: UK Companies

Access to company information is provided through a variety of databases. Basic information on the range of companies covered, and type of information provided by each database is detailed below:

Specialist financial databases

The following databases are specialist research databases available mostly for registered final year undergraduate/postgraduate students and academic staff at Alliance Manchester Business School.

These databases provide very detailed current/historic information for a wide range of company and financial market data items and some do require a level of programming expertise to extract the data.

Creative Commons Licence This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International Licence.

You can use this box to make notes on this page. Please contact us if you encounter any problems with this tool or if you have any feedback. Ensure you email your notes to yourself before you close your browser.

 

Save:
Save as text file:
Email notes to yourself:
>
Notes